Search This Blog

Friday, December 30, 2011

Manga Review: Shugo Chara Chan! GN 1

Shugo Chara Chan! volume 1
Author: Peach-Pit, Naphthalene Mizushima, et al.
Kodansha Comics
208 pages

Amu's guardians get their own books in this new Shugo Chara series! These hilarious stories are in the vertical 4-koma (4-panel) comic strip format.

Shugo Chara Chan!, the spin-off to the Peach-Pit series Shugo Chara is cute - utterly, ridiculously cute. But beyond that, it doesn’t really have a ton going for it. The back of the book note that in this series, Amu’s “beloved” Guardian Characters “finally nab the spotlight” – okay, who the hell has been feverously awaiting a whole series based on the antics of Ran, Miki, and Su? Certainly not me; I had enough of them in the main series. This isn’t to say that I loathe this series; I’m just not in love with it like the publisher wants me to be.

It’s weird to see these characters in a style that is not exactly Peach-Pit; the entire book is helmed by a group of different manga-kas, each taking cracks at using Peach-Pit’s characters in various 4-koma strips and gag stories. Some of them even go so far as to put the Guardian Characters into their own series; the only one that will be recognizable for English language audiences will be that one by Miyuki Eto, the manga-ka behind the Hell Girl series. Luckily, the others aren’t so unapproachable to the unfamiliar members of the audience that they can’t be enjoyed as well.

It does have its humorous moments, to be sure. A lot of the humor is, naturally, gag-based, so it won’t appeal to everyone. And most of the jokes are either riffs on Japanese culture or aspects of the series itself, so people unfamiliar with Japanese humor might find themselves utterly reliant on the translation notes in the back of the book – and people unfamiliar with the Shugo Chara series might as well not read it. It’s cute, it will give you a wicked case of the giggles, but unless you are forever faithful to the Shugo Chara franchise no matter what the material matter is, you probably won’t want to make a big effort to read this one.

Thursday, December 29, 2011

Where Is Blog Today?

I wrote a guest post at my good friend Jeremy's blog, Taking Over The Universe, about the top five anime openings of 2011. Check it out! Naturally, a lot of my favorite series took over the list - especially shows like Level E and Madoka Magica.

(And yes, I'll be doing more guest blogs for Jeremy in the near future, if he'll have them, heh.)

Also, be sure to look around his sweet blog while you are there. It is simply the best pop music & pop culture blog around.

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Fujoshi O'Clock: The Last of 2011 Edition

What time is it? It's . . . Fujoshi O'Clock, the new weekly feature at Nagareboshi Review, when I bring to you the latest fujoshi-related news and reviews and various shiny BL-flavored things. Why? Because rotten girls need love too!


This week on Fujoshi O'Clock:


Reviews:


Am I missing your blog? Got some awesome fujoshi-related news and reviews you think deserve a shout-out? Poke me with a link and a bit of description over at my Twitter: @theseventhl. I'm always on the look out for more BL love!

Tuesday, December 27, 2011

Manga Review: Natsume's Book of Friends GN 10

Natsume's Book of Friends volume 10
Author: Yuki Midorikawa
Viz Media/Shojo Beat
192 pages

One of Natsume’s elementary school classmates is in town, but the unexpected reunion is for a dark purpose. Shibata knows Natsume’s secret, and threatens to expose it if Natsume doesn’t do what he says!

Spoiler warning: Contains major spoilers for the Natsume Yuujinchou manga series so far. Read on with caution!

Natsume’s Book of Friends is still the best supernatural shojo manga you aren’t reading even though you most definitely should be. It has a lot of things going for it, like gorgeous artwork and an amazing cast of characters, but this particular volume highlights one of its best strengths: the continuing character arc of one Takashi Natsume, the boy who can see yokai. In this most recent volume, he has some true moments of growth related to his relations with both humans and the supernatural which are beautiful to witness, and it’s this kind of gradual yet worthwhile development in a protagonist that makes Natsume’s story an essential one for manga fans across the board.

Monday, December 26, 2011

AMV Of The Week: Real Ninjas

I'm sick and do not yet have the energy to do a complete write-up, so here is this week’s AMV, all about real ninjas and their ninja antics. Enjoy.

AMV: Real Ninjas
Author: Not apparent; uploaded by sorzahno
Music: Too many songs to list!
Warnings: N/A

Saturday, December 24, 2011

Blog Wishes You A Merry Christmas!

Or Hannukah, or Kwanzaa, or Festivus, or whatever y'all choose to celebrate. Sorry for the lack of holiday-related posts lately; next year, I'll be better at realizing what time of year it is and post accordingly. Maybe even review some holiday-related anime and manga? If it's what the people want, of course.

I hope everyone has an awesome Christmas (or whatever) tomorrow! I know I'll be spending the entire day with family, watching A Christmas Story over - and over - and over - until the Doctor Who Christmas special comes on, and then I'll watch that like three times more before I pass out from a glut of turkey and eggnog. And hopefully y'all have fun doing whatever y'all do during the holiday, whether it is sleeping until noon or going out for Chinese or spending the entire day in front of the computer marathoning Natsume Yuujinchou (which no one would fault you for, it is amazing).

Just wanted to say how much I love all of my followers, whether you read me directly on the blog or via Google Reader or an RSS feed via a different site. You guys and your support keep this blog going and give me a reason to keep doing this silly thing for no money and not much publicity. Plus, the occasional comment from you folks always makes me day, so keep doing that next year, okay? ♥

Okay, now that I've showered you with love, have a reason to hate my guts. Enjoy that special Christmas classic, Itsudatte My Santa!, below. It's the English dub, too! 'Tis the season to be a terrible troll, after all.

Friday, December 23, 2011

Graphic Novel Review: Green River Killer: A True Detective Story

Green River Killer: A True Detective Story
Author: Jeff Jensen
Artist: Jonathan Case
Dark Horse Comics
234 pages (hardcover ed.)

The story of one of America's most notorious killers is revealed in this true-crime comic unlike any other! Throughout the 1980s, the highest priority of Seattle-area police was the apprehension of the Green River Killer, the man responsible for the murders of dozens of women. But in 1990, with the body count numbering at least forty-eight, the case was put in the hands of a single detective, Tom Jensen. After twenty years, when the killer was finally captured with the help of DNA technology, Jensen and fellow detectives spent 188 days interviewing Gary Leon Ridgway in an effort to learn his most closely held secrets-an epic confrontation with evil that proved as disturbing and surreal as can be imagined. Written by Jensen's own son, acclaimed entertainment journalist Jeff Jensen, Green River Killer: A True Detective Story presents the ultimate insider's account of America's most prolific serial killer.

I never expected to read about the story of the Green River Killer in graphic novel form, but here I am, doing exactly that, from the mouth of the head detective's son himself. As someone who was born in 1990, the case is a rather distant one for me; I barely remember the news coverage that broke out when Gary Ridgway was convicted of his horrific crimes. What I found in Jeff Jensen's account of his father's work was a blood chilling tale of murder and violence without reason, and the story of a man consumed by this single man's acts even to this day. Told in a stark, detailed style, this graphic version of the Green River Killer's case, it's a book that is hard to simply walk away from at the end; even now, it lingers in my mind long after I've read the last page.

Thursday, December 22, 2011

Manga Review: Ouran High School Host Club GN 17

Ouran High School Host Club volume 17
Author: Bisco Hatori
Viz Media/Shojo Beat
192 pages

Spoiler warning: Review contains spoilers for the Ouran High School Host Club manga so far. Read with caution! I mean it! Don't read this review if you are horrifically behind on the series - like seven books behind kind of behind. That means you, Mom! (Yeah, my mom reads Ouran, you wanna fight or something?)

Tamaki’s father and grandmother, the heads of the powerful Suoh Corp., are behind the Host Club’s suspension and the plan for Haruhi to be shipped off abroad. Now the Host Club members must pull out all the stops to save their beloved leader from his family’s infighting.

Read my review of this volume after the jump!

Fujoshi O'Clock (12/22/11)

What time is it? It's . . . Fujoshi O'Clock, the new weekly feature at Nagareboshi Review, when I bring to you the latest fujoshi-related news and reviews and various shiny BL-flavored things. Why? Because rotten girls need love too!


This week on Fujoshi O'Clock:
Reviews:
Am I missing your blog? Got some awesome fujoshi-related news and reviews you think deserve a shout-out? Poke me with a link and a bit of description over at my Twitter: @theseventhl. I'm always on the look out for more BL love!

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

JManga News: Here Comes Morita-san!

According to the latest JManga news letter, on December 27th the first volume of Tae Sono's series Morita-san wa Mukuchi will be available for purchase on the site. How awesome is that? As someone who has a soft spot for the anime series, I look forward to reading the source material in English. I do so adore me some Morita-san ♥

You can read my initial thoughts and final thoughts on the first season of the Morita-san wa Mukuchi anime, or just browse through the series' tag on this blog.

Crunchyroll is currently hosting streaming episodes of the Morita-san anime here. Watch it!

Tuesday, December 20, 2011

AMV Of The Week: White Christmas

This week’s AMV is my attempt to bring some Christmas cheer onto Nagareboshi Reviews, especially considering the bloody holiday is less than a week away. Gah! Still, relax by the fire with a cup of nog and this cute holiday video dedicated to anime's more snowy moments.


AMV: White Christmas
Author: Angie122785
Music: Bing Crosby's "White Christmas"
Warnings: It's Christmas-y as hell?

Interesting Blog Post About MADs Of The Day

The Cart Driver has an interesting piece up about Sakuga MADs: Why Sakuga MADs Rub Me The Wrong Way.
We all know AMVs. Spliced together scenes from anime to the back­ing track of the creator’s favour­ite song. Every­one has their stor­ies of how a cer­tain AMV got them inter­ested in a cer­tain anime (although I’m strug­gling to think of a per­sonal example). How­ever some AMVs cobble together clips from vari­ous dif­fer­ent anime. Some­times it’s just because it looks cool, but other times they have a spe­cific goal in mind. There’s a trend, ori­gin­at­ing from the Japan­ese side of fan­dom, of tak­ing clips from a single anim­at­ors work and cob­bling them together to show off their anim­a­tion style.
The Cart Driver's blog post goes on to explain the current trend of these Sakuga MADs that mash together the works of animators together in one video and how it, put simply, leaves a bad taste in his mouth. I had not been aware of the Sakuga wave until I read this post. 


I have to wonder: has anyone watched a Sakuga MAD that was actually effective and well put-together? Feel free to put links to some of your favorites in the comments.

Monday, December 19, 2011

Meet VOCALOID Tone Rion

Via Crunchyroll: New VOCALOID Tone Rion's Demo Song "Thousand Regrets".

The song will be officially released in Japan on December 16th. The song "Thousand Regrets" was produced by Nijihara Peperon aka PeperonP. You can listen to the demo song in the video below:


The song is really nice, isn't it? And Tone Rion's outfit looks adorable; I hope to see some cosplayers tackle her cyber-pop wardrobe in the next year at upcoming conventions.

Saturday, December 17, 2011

Where Is Blog This Weekend?

At the Bishiecon Cabaret 2011 in Saint Louis County, at the Crowne Plaza Clayton, the Midwest's premiere yaoi convention.

The con is now 18+ and filled to burst with yaoi/boys' love goodness. Honestly, if you ain't spending your weekend here, you ain't doing anything worth talking about!

See you there ♥

PR: VIZ Manga 20% Off Sale Extended to Jan 8th, Now Incl. ALL Volumes!

VIZ MEDIA EXTENDS 20% OFF HOLIDAY PROMOTION TO COVER ALL DIGITAL MANGA TITLES ON VIZMANGA.COM AND THE
VIZ MANGA APP THRU JANUARY 8th

Fans Invited To Explore New Series Or Catch Up On Popular Ongoing Titles With A Special Discount That Applies To More Than 500 Digital Manga Volumes

VIZ Media has extended its recently announced holiday digital manga promotion. Now through Midnight (PST), January 8th, 2012, all VIZ Media manga titles on VIZManga.com and the VIZ MANGA App for the Apple iPad®, iPhone® and iPod® touch will be up to 20% off (regular prices range from $4.99 to $9.99).

The promotion gives readers an opportunity to explore the new SHONEN JUMP DIGITAL WARP ‘speed-ups’ of selected titles such as ONE PIECE and BLEACH, that will quickly bring U.S. readers up-to-date with Japanese releases, catch up with other ongoing VIZ Media manga series, or discover brand new ones!

VIZ Media’s multiple digital manga platforms enable universal access to enjoy manga from an iPhone, iPod touch, iPad, and now, on VIZManga.com for desktop/laptop computers as well as Android-powered devices with built-in web browsers. With one account, registered users may access their purchases across even more devices than ever.

The free VIZ Manga App continues to be the top application for reading manga and features a rapidly growing library of the most popular manga series in the world. Over 45 series and 500+ volumes are currently available, with new additions and free Chapter 1 previews added weekly.

For more information, please visit VIZManga.com or www.VIZ.com/apps.  

Thursday, December 15, 2011

Fujoshi O'Clock (12/15/11)

What time is it? It's . . . Fujoshi O'Clock, the new weekly feature at Nagareboshi Review, when I bring to you the latest fujoshi-related news and reviews and various shiny BL-flavored things. Why? Because rotten girls need love too!

This week on Fujoshi O'Clock:

Reviews:

Am I missing your blog? Got some awesome fujoshi-related news and reviews you think deserve a shout-out? Poke me with a link and a bit of description over at my Twitter: @theseventhl. I'm always on the lookout for more BL love!

Monday, December 12, 2011

AMV Of The Week: Gimme More

This week’s AMV is one kicking fan vid featuring some of the hottest ladies in recent anime history, especially if you love Yoko from Gurren Laggan. Plus, it features a quite awesome rock cover of a Britney Spears song that fits really well with the action in the video. And did I mention boobs? Because boobs.

AMV: Gimme More
Author: VIDOK/Opium-V
Music: Machinae Supremacy’s “Gimme More” (Britney Spears cover)
Warnings: Lots and lots of fast paced, colorful fanservice. Lots.


Saturday, December 10, 2011

PR: New Shojo Manga DAWN OF THE ARCANA, Now Available!

VIZ MEDIA ANNOUNCES THE LAUNCH OF NEW SHOJO MANGA SERIES DAWN OF THE ARCANA
DAWN OF THE ARCANA
© 2009 Rei TOMA/Shogakukan

A Princess Uses Her Power to Make a Difference in New Fantasy Romance Series

San Francisco, CA, December 7, 2011 – VIZ Media, LLC (VIZ Media), the largest distributor and licensor of anime and manga in North America, has announced the release of the manga (graphic novel) series, DAWN OF THE ARCANA, by Rei Toma. The brand new title, available now, is published under the company’s Shojo Beat imprint, is rated ‘T’ for Teens, and carries an MSRP of $9.99 U.S. / $12.99 CAN.

In DAWN OF THE ARCANA, Princess Nakaba of Senan is forced to marry Prince Caesar of the enemy country Belquat, tantamount to becoming a hostage. While Caesar is pleasing to the eye, he is also selfish and possessive, telling Nakaba outright: “You are my property.” With only her attendant Loki at her side, Nakaba must find a way to cope with her hostile surroundings, her fake marriage...and a mysterious power!

“DAWN OF THE ARCANA creator Rei Toma has crafted a fascinating tale about a strong princess who discovers that she has an ancient power. She unearths secrets about her past, crosses swords with her husband, and has the gumption to fight for a better future for herself and those around her,” says Amy Yu, Editor. “Readers will get swept up in the emotional and dramatic tension that permeates this new fantasy romance story from our Shojo Beat line.”   

Friday, December 9, 2011

Signal Boost!: Unbridled Energy - Korean Animation and Dance in NYC

If you live in the New York area and have any love for Korean culture, specifically their animation and amazing dances, you owe yourself a visit to the Museum of Arts and Design in NYC as they host Unbridled Passion, a series of Korean art in motion in conjunction with the exhibition Korean Eye: Energy and Matter also in the museum. It looks and sounds like it'll be totally awesome. Don't believe me? Read this excerpt from their site:

Staged fantasies, reality manipulation, hybrid culture, and emerging landscapes are themes not only found in contemporary Korean fine arts, but also throughout Korea’s cultural output. Celebrating two mediums that have risen to international prominence for their vibrant and riotous innovations into these themes, this winter MAD is pleased to present the series “Unbridled Energy: Korean Animation and Dance.” 
From post-apocalyptic worlds run on energy bars, to the blending of video and movement, as well as ghosts dealing with the effects of the economic downturn, “Unbridled Energy: Korean Animation and Dance” reveals the diversity of contemporary Korean creation.

Looking at the schedule, today is an excellent day to go over to the Museum and watch a movie or two: My Beautiful Girl Mari is an absolute gem of a film and beautiful all around, and from what I've heard, Doggy Poo (despite its name) is surprisingly adorable and amusing.
Plus, as the MAD Museum site points out, Korean animation is criminally underrated and never gets the same amount of attention as animation from other countries with an American audience, despite a number of American cartoons having Korean animators on staff. Which is a crying shame - think of all the amazing manwha (like Full House, Goong, Let Dai, President Dad...) and Korean animation (My Beautiful Girl Mari, Doggy Poo, Run=Dim, Wonderful Days...) that is being ignored!
The double feature of My Beautiful Girl Mari and Doggy Poo is tonight at the MAD Museum in New York City, starting at seven o'clock in the evening. The price is 10 dollars general admission, 7 dollars for museum members and students. If you can go, go! Take an evening off to appreciate some Korean culture.
Many thanks to the Museum of Arts and Design in NYC for bringing this excellent event to my attention!

Fujoshi O'Clock: (12/09/11)

What time is it? It's . . . Fujoshi O'Clock, the new weekly feature at Nagareboshi Review, when I bring to you the latest fujoshi-related news and reviews and various shiny BL-flavored things. Why? Because rotten girls need love too!


This week on Fujoshi O'Clock:


Reviews:


Am I missing your blog? Got some awesome fujoshi-related news and reviews you think deserve a shout-out? Poke me with a link and a bit of description over at my Twitter: @theseventhl. I'm always on the look out for more BL love!

Wednesday, December 7, 2011

PR: ONE PIECE Digital Speed Up Begins, Limited Time 20% Off Vol 1's!

ONE PIECE © 1997
by Eiichiro Oda/SHUEISHA Inc.

VIZ MEDIA KICKS OFF DECEMBER WITH DIGITAL MANGA SPEED UP FOR ONE PIECE

Latest Update For VIZManga.com And The VIZ Manga App For iPad, iPhone And iPod Touch Includes Limited Time Volume 1 20% Off Promotion Starting December 7th

VIZ Media delivers a festive dose of digital sparkle as the 2011 Holiday Season begins with the latest update of manga (graphic novels) titles available on VIZManga.com and for digital download on the VIZ MANGA App for the Apple iPad®, iPhone® and iPod® touch.

The SHONEN JUMP DIGITAL WARP starts today for ONE PIECE, with the release of Vol. 59, available the same day the print version debuts, along with the digital first of ONE PIECE Vol. 60. This will be quickly followed by the digital first debut of ONE PIECE Vols. 61-62 on December 12th. The SHONEN JUMP DIGITAL WARP is a ‘speed-up’ of selected titles to bring U.S. readers up-to-date with Japanese releases and prepare for the January 2012 launch of VIZ Media’s WEEKLY SHONEN JUMP ALPHA, North America’s only near-simultaneous digital manga magazine.

The SHONEN JUMP DIGITAL WARP also continues for Masashi Kishimoto’s hit ninja series NARUTO, with Volume 56 now available, and for Tite Kubo’s supernatural action saga, BLEACH, with Volume 52 debuting on December 12th. NARUTO Vols. 54-55 and BLEACH Vols. 49-51, are also available now, ahead of the print editions.

December 7th will also see the kick-off of a special limited time promotion that makes all Volume 1 manga titles available for up to 20% off (regular prices range from $4.99 to $9.99). This offer will run until midnight PST on December 12th. 

Monday, December 5, 2011

AMV Of The Week: Butterflies of God

This week’s AMV is a beautifully crafted mixture of anime and manga that accompanies an original story, one of butterflies and wanting to learn what it's like to be alive. It's well done, uses both mediums with skill, and use a variety of sources - when's the last time you saw anime like Rideback and Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuutsu in the same AMV, for any reason? I look forward to watching more fan vids from Tana-sama in the near future.

AMV: Butterflies of God
Author: Tana-sama
Music: Masuda Toshia "Byou no Sakana" from the Mushi-shi OST
Warnings: Use of lens flare/zoom, quick cut scenes, PG-13 level scenes of violence and related drama


Interesting Blog Post About Anime Of The Day

Himari of Mawaru Penguindrum
At Bateszi Anime Blog, Celeste is looking at the anatomy of a gaze (which involves examining recent series Mawaru Penguindrum, so possible spoilers on that front):
I find it interesting in an anime all about belonging – particularly focusing on the family unit – these two are the distinct floaters. They have no attachments that we know of and, instead, make a business of making the attachments of others fit into their machinations. Boushi-san possesses Himari to have the Takakura brothers find the Penguindrum for her; without specifying where or what it is. Similarly, Sanetoshi approaches the Takakura siblings because they fit into whatever ‘game’ he’s trying not to lose; the fact that they’re siblings seems to be of importance, as he goes through the drawn-out process of asking for payment before administering the medicine.
Note: posts also makes a reference to the AMC television series Mad Men. Certainly didn't expect a MM reference on an anime blog!

Sunday, December 4, 2011

PR: ART FOR HOPE Japan Disaster Relief Digital Anthology Now Available

VIZ MEDIA TO RELEASE ART FOR HOPE DIGITAL ART ANTHOLOGY IN DECEMBER
Kibou © 2011 Sirron Norris

Innovative Art Book Created In Partnership With Autodesk To Benefit Japanese Disaster Recovery; Exhibit Of Artwork Also Takes Place In Las Vegas At Autodesk University

VIZ Media has announced the upcoming debut of ART FOR HOPE, a limited edition digital art book anthology created in partnership with Autodesk, Inc. (NASDAQ: ADSK) to benefit Architecture for Humanity. The anthology will be available for a limited time, from December 1, 2011 to May 31, 2012, for $4.99 through VIZManga.com and the VIZ Manga App for iPad®, iPhone® and iPod® touch. 100% of VIZ Media’s net proceeds will support Architecture for Humanity’s ongoing disaster reconstruction efforts in Japan. To learn more about these rebuilding projects, please visit: www.ArchitectureForHumanity.org.

Each of the 40 artists participating in the ART FOR HOPE anthology used Autodesk® SketchBook® digital paint and drawing software applications in some way to create original pieces for the anthology. The artists, both professional and amateur, hail from around the world and from diverse fields, and range in style from the realistic to the fantastic, each illustrating the theme of “Hope.” Notable contributors include Eisner Award and Harvey Award winner Rob Guillory, Harvey Award winner Lark Pien, muralist Sirron Norris, and MAMESHIBA artists Jorge Monlongo and Gemma Correll.

Selections from ART FOR HOPE will also be exhibited at the Autodesk annual user conference, Autodesk University, taking place at the Venetian Hotel in Las Vegas, NV from November 29th to December 1st. Access to the exhibit is free to the public within the Creative Studio a unique hands-on space to celebrate the creative spirit and showcasing a variety of Autodesk software and products. More information on the exhibit and conference is available at: http://www.sketchbooknews.com/news/creative-studio-art-exhibit.html.

Friday, December 2, 2011

Guest Review: Codename Sailor V GN 2

Codename: Sailor V volume 2
Author: Naoko Takeuchi
Kodansha Comics USA
296 pages (omnibus ed.)

Like Sailor Moon, Minako Aino is a normal 13-year-old schoolgirl until a fateful day when a white cat introduces himself to her and tells her she has the power to transform into the hero, Sailor V. Using a magic pen to transform, Sailor V fights the evil agents of the Dark Agency as she strives to protect the earth.

Reviewer note: Look, Jeremy is back! Everyone’s favorite guest reviewer has returned with his review of the next volume of the English translated release of Codename: Sailor V. And as usual, if you like what you’re reading here, be sure to pop over to his blog, Taking Over The Universe, and read all of his amazing posts about pop music and pop culture!

Spoiler warning: Review contains spoilers for the Sailor V manga so far.

Here we are again, taking a look at the last volume of the Sailor V manga. Originally split into three volumes, Kodansha re-organized them into two volumes, making these monster nearly 300 pages. Let's just say you are getting a lot of bang for your buck, size wise. I don't know if I can say the same about its content.

Thursday, December 1, 2011

PR: WEEKLY SHONEN JUMP ALPHA Debut Issue Cover Unveiled!

NR Note: I can't exactly feign excitement over the fact that Shonen Jump is going digital. It was so convenient in print, it gave me a feeling of ownership and made it easier to lend SJs with friends interested in some of the newer series. Plus, I don't own an e-Reader - which means releases like these aren't for me. Still, maybe this is the direction Viz Media needs to take to further expand their business. Only time will tell!

VIZ MEDIA UNVEILS THE COVER FOR FIRST DIGITAL ISSUE OF WEEKLY SHONEN JUMP ALPHA

New Weekly Manga Anthology Launches In January 2012 And Offers Unprecedented Near Simultaneous U.S./Japanese Release Of Some Of The World’s Most Popular Manga Titles

VIZ Media gives fans and readers a taste of what’s to come from the new WEEKLY SHONEN JUMP ALPHA (WEEKLY SJ ALPHA), a serial digital manga anthology launching on January 30th, 2012 that will feature some of the most popular manga series in the world and offer near simultaneous release of these titles in the U.S. and Japan. The company has revealed the cover for the first issue, which will be available initially through VIZManga.com and the VIZ Manga apps for iPhone®, iPod® touch, and iPad®.

The first cover for the new brand features the main characters from all six series featured in WEEKLY SJ ALPHA, including Naruto from NARUTO, Ichigo from BLEACH, Luffy of ONE PIECE, Rikuo of NURA: RISE OF THE YOKAI CLAN, Moritaka Mashiro and Akito Takagi of BAKUMAN。, and gourmet hunter Toriko of TORIKO.