Search This Blog

Saturday, September 29, 2012

My Sister Was Always Beside Me: NakaImo 12


Episode 12: With the help of Ikusu, Shogo has finally put the clues together on who his real sister is. (Source: Crunchyroll)
Spoiler alert: Spoilers for the entire Who Is Imouto?/NakaImo series can be found in this entry. Read on with caution!
So, I was wrong. I think? That's the problem; I over thought this damn series and now all my theories and thoughts about WHO IS IMOUTO have gotten mashed up in my head so I don't even know who I had hypothetical money on for Imouto #1 - but I think my initial gut reaction turned out to be the right one. So because the episode itself was rather by-the-numbers for a finale and managed to wrap up everything pretty plainly, let's go through some theories and talk about what stuff this episode exposed as a whole.
Also, let's talk about traps because we can and because traps are always relevant.

Attention: New Poll For Accel World Fans

If you have been following my Accel World posts, please consider answering the latest poll which can be found on the right side of the blog. I'm asking if you would like to read reviews of the series' OVAs, which would include those bundled with the video games and those based on the 4-koma manga.

Note: everything depends on the - ahem - availability of the OVAs with English subs as well as if the North American release has any solid plans on including these OVAs with their DVD/BR packs, which will make my decision a hundred times easier - but no one's said anything on that front, yet.

As usual, thanks so much for reading and thank you those who participate in the poll! Your opinions really do matter and make a difference in what's covered on this blog. Especially since it was reader influence that led me to keep blogging about Accel World in the first place! ♥

Friday, September 28, 2012

Interesting Anime Article Of The Day: Patlabor Edition

Anything having to do with Patlabor always catches my eye so AnimeNation's anime news blog's latest Ask John feature certainly did as it is answering a reader question on if Patlabor is still a viable franchise, like Gundam and Evangelion.

John's answer traces the multimedia history of the Patlabor franchise, starting with the 1998 manga by Masami Yuuki, and examines the fundamental traits that have made Patlabor so popular. He even points out Patlabor's influence in recent series, including a current favorite of mine - Toshokan Sensou/Library Wars.
Tonally, the influence of Patlabor also seems evident in the Toshokan Senso franchise, which got an anime feature film last June. In appearance and personality, Toshokan Senso’s protagonist Iku Kasahara could almost be a sister to Patlabor’s protagonist Noa Izumi. In terms of series construction, very reminiscent of Patlabor, Toshokan Senso revolves around a small, quirky team of law officers who spend most of their time on mundane activities and interactions, only occasionally launching into militaristic action.

Overall, if you have been waiting for a signal - any signal - that people are still interested in watching a series about police Labors and the loveable goofballs that pilot them, AnimeNation has you covered. Personally, I would just love a re-release of the Mobile Police Patlabor 1989 series with an affordable DVD package; currently, they all cost an arm and a leg for 15+ DVDs each only holding about 4-6 episodes!

Also, I could definitely see a live action Patlabor going down if the studio doing it could make the necessary CGI look good as well as keep the original camaraderie of the Second Special Vehicles Division as it is in the series.

Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Graphic Novel Review: The Supernaturalist


The Supernaturalist: The Graphic Novel
Author: Eoin Colfer (original story), Andrew Donkin
Artists: Giovanni Rigano, Paolo Lamanna
Hyperion
128 pages
Unwanted by his parents, Cosmo Hill is put to work by the state, testing highly dangerous products. Cosmo realizes he must get away, and escapes with the help of the Supernaturalists, a group of kids who have the same special abilities as Cosmo--they can see supernatural Parasites, creatures that feed on the life force of humans. The Supernaturalists patrol the city at night, hunting the Parasites in hopes of saving what is left of humanity in Satellite City. But soon they find themselves caught in a web far more complicated than they'd imagined, and they discover a horrifying secret that will force them to question everything they believe in. (Source: Goodreads)
I've pretty much read almost every book author Eoin Colfer has put out so far (with the exception of his grade school lit) so naturally, I have to read the graphic novel adaptations of his works. At this time, only two of his series have gotten the graphic treatment: Artemis Fowl and The Supernaturalist - which, although is only one book, has already been confirmed for at least one sequel, thus it's a series in my eyes. Naturally, my expectations for someone turning Colfer's vibrant prose and lush world-building into illustrated form were pretty darn high.
And then this 128-page thin volume came and buried said expectations deep into the ground, like they had been left there by an unfortunate and stinky digging expedition via a certain dirt-chomping dwarf. Which, okay, wrong series but some of the same people who adapted Artemis Fowl into graphic novel form - and did a pretty good job of it - were involved in the Supernaturalist's GN. So how did everything go so splendidly wrong so fast in such few pages?

Tuesday, September 25, 2012

PR: Viz Media Holding SJA Fan Meetup During NYCC!

NARUTO © 1999
by Masashi Kishimoto/SHUEISHA Inc.
 

VISIT VIZ MEDIA AT NEW YORK COMIC CON, BOOTH #2042

VIZ MEDIA INVITES MANGA AND ANIME FANS TO A SHONEN JUMP ALPHA
MEET-UP AT 
NEW YORK CITY’S KINOKUNIYA BOOKSTORE

Meet TIGER & BUNNY Character Designer Masakazu Katsura And Catch The Debut of New SJ ALPHA 2013 Yearbook At FREE Event Coinciding With 2012 New York Comic Con

VIZ Media invites manga and anime fans of all ages to join the company for a very special SHONEN JUMP ALPHA Meet-Up, taking place Friday, October 12th from 5:00pm – 8:00pm at the Kinokuniya Bookstore, located at 1073 Avenue of the Americas (6th Avenue between 40th & 41st Streets). The meet-up is FREE to attend, and coincides with VIZ Media’s appearance at the 2012 New York Comic Con taking place October 11th-14th at the Jacob Javits Convention Center. VIZ Media will be located in Booth 2042.

Making a special in-person appearance at Kinokuniya will be legendary creator and character designer Masakazu Katsura (I”S, VIDEO GIRL AI, ZETMAN, TIGER & BUNNY), who will meet fans and sign autographs from 7:00pm-8:00pm. A variety of door prizes will be given away, and visitors are also encouraged to take advantage of many Kinokuniya manga and anime products that will be specially discounted during the duration of the meet-up event.

Monday, September 24, 2012

AMV Of The Week: Eden Me Baby


This week’s AMV is a really adorable, sweet, and totally funny East of the Eden fanvid, set to a hell of an earworm that I'm sure 90% of the Internet is already sick of hearing. But in this context, it's not so annoying, promise (and it's not the full song)! Plus, it's another Natsucon 2012 AMV contest winner!
  
AMV: Eden Me Baby
Author: StarTrinity009
Music: Carly Rae Jepsen's "Call Me Maybe"
Warnings: Spoilers for EotE; some moments of nudity, fast edited clips.

Sunday, September 23, 2012

Reincarnation: Accel World 24


Episode 24 (Season One Finale): Silver Crow is determined to settle his score with Dusk Taker once and for all. (Source: Hulu)
Spoiler warning: Post contains spoilers for episode 24 and all episodes leading up to it. It's a series finale, folks! Read with caution!
Here it is: the finale for Accel World. And it's just as explosive, dramatic, and wonderful as I'd hoped it would be. It's a gem of an episode that covers all of the series' strength, including its battle scenes, humor, and impressive characters. This is Silver Crow versus Dusk Taker, the one battle I think everyone has been waiting for, mainly to see Nomi get socked in the face hardcore. And those folks will not be disappointed.
Read my lengthy review on Accel World's finale after the jump:

Micro Manga Review: Naruto GN 56


Naruto GN 56
Author: Masashi Kishimoto
Viz Media/Shonen Jump
200 pages
Team Asuma, Reunited: Naruto and the Allied Shinobi Forces battle Kabuto’s hordes of reanimated ninja soldiers. In the process, they come face-to-face with old friends brought back from the dead…plus enemies and weapons more fearsome than any they could have imagined!
So the first half of this volume is a write-off in terms of story and plot. I know that's a mean thing to say about what I suppose is a pivotal battle during the current arc but considering it's all based around characters that are either new or mostly periphery, you can hopefully forgive my blah behavior towards the whole thing. At least the artwork throughout the volume is consistently amazing, showing howKishimoto's strengths truly shine through during moments of action.
This is not to say that the Kinkaku/Ginkaku vs the Allied Shinobi Forces bits were boring. Actually, they were pretty well choreographed and very interesting, especially with the sealing techniques. Plus, it highlighted the ninjas' awesome mind-to-mind communication system, something I've been really loving in this recent story arc. It's like a shinobi mind meld coupled with a psychic walkie-talkie!
The star part of this volume is highlighted in the book summary: the bittersweet reunion of Team Asuma. I'm trying to keep this review as spoiler-free as possible, so I'll just say that the arrival of a certain character will certainly tug at readers' heartstrings in the worst way possible. But let us appreciate for a moment how much Shikamaru, Ino, and Choji have grown and matured into their respective roles. I don't know any jonin or kage who wouldn't be proud of the ninja they've become.
My second favorite part is actually the cliffhanger involving Naruto. He's not as clueless as folks would like to think, and considering the nine-tails inside of him that's very dangerous. It's because of his actions that I am very much looking forward to volume 57; good thing it's out already!

Saturday, September 22, 2012

My Blooming Sisters/My Sister's Trap: NakaImo 10 & 11


Episode 10: When all of Shogo’s potential wives are invited to the same party, things do not go as planned. Especially when he finds a trusted member is planning to overthrow his inheritance of the company.
Episode 11: With all the lies, conflicting stories, and people trying to ruin his inheritance, Shogo is breaking down. To add to his worries, Kannagi is making outrageous demands. (Source: Crunchyroll)
If I did not know the next episode would be the series finale, nothing about these two episodes would telegraph that point at all. If any, NakaImo is moving at a snail's pace towards its conclusion, seemingly content to waste time in the hijinks and contrived romantic tension than the storyline behind the title of the show itself. But that's NakaImo for you; it hops between screwball comedy, romantic drama, and incest roulette-related suspense so much it can't be bothered to find a comfortable place in-between all of these various aspects of itself.
You can read the rest of this review after the jump:

Friday, September 21, 2012

Fujoshi O'Clock (9/21/12)


What time is it? It's . . . Fujoshi O'Clock, the biweekly feature at Nagareboshi Review, when I bring to you the latest fujoshi-related news and reviews and various shiny BL-flavored things. Why? Because rotten girls need love too!
   
This week on Fujoshi O'Clock:

  • Via ANN: JManga has added another BL manga title, this time My Dear Prince by Fumi Tomoe. There will be at least four volumes of the series. There also seems to be an Eiki Eiki title coming up on their schedule.
  • A bit of an older link, but helen_damnation has put together a list of what she calls 'non-creepy yaoi manga' - BL manga that does not have issues with dubious consent and non-con romance. I believe Mr Convenience was recently licensed, and Bond(z) has been out for some time now in English.
  • Ogiue Maniax's Fujoshi Files goes onwards with File #54: Kiryuu Yuuzuki of Kissxsis, a high school teacher who has a samurai hug pillow in her house.
  • ふう子 at Hazukashii Kedo talks about the tenth anniversary of Kusame Sakae, a BL manga-ka who is probably very prolific by now. The Twitter interview has passed already but past tweets using the event's hashtag should still be readable.
  • Over at The Beautiful World, they blog about trans* and intersex representation in manga; it's not yaoi related, but it is LGBT related and therefore is probably pertinent to readers of BL/yuri materials. It also seems to be part three in a series of posts, so please check out the two previous parts!

Reviews:


Am I missing your blog? Got some awesome fujoshi-related news and reviews you think deserve a shout-out? Poke me with a link and a bit of description over at my Twitter: @theseventhl. I'm always on the look out for more BL love!

Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Five Things I Learned About Journalism (That's Relevant To Anime Blogging)

This Saturday, I spent pretty much the whole day with fellow journalist students at Webster University for the Society of Professional Journalists' yearly boot camp, which was basically a series of lectures by professionals in the field as well as a writing competition. For disclosure's sake? I did not win the writing competition. But it was a valuable learning experience about reporting breaking news as well as using information from a news conference to blah blah blah what does this have to do with anime?

Because, surprising enough (or not), I picked up a few points from the many seminars I sat through that are rather valuable for anime bloggers. After all, bloggers are a kind of journalist. We investigate stories and write posts about them, doing our best to keep to a set of standards. Many anime bloggers livetweet industry panels at anime conventions, do 'breaking news' posts on events in anime and manga, even interviews with fellow otaku-related public figures (Organization Anti-Social Geniuses is very good on this front). We even get press badges at anime conventions! Okay, sometimes.

Hopefully, one of these tips are helpful to y'all! You can start reading them after the jump.


Tuesday, September 18, 2012

AMV Of The Week: Paranoia Psycho


This week’s AMV is a Paranoia Agent fan video, enough said, go and watch it. Wait, it's not? Okay then. It's a PA fan video centered around Icchi - and if you remember the series, you'll know why that's a very interesting choice on the video maker's part. Also, there's a lot of brilliant editing and clip/music matching that makes it a highly executed video all together.

AMV: Ichiban ☻ Psycho
Author: hikikomoe
Music: Disturbed's "Stupify"
Warnings: Spoilers for Paranoia Agent. Moments of violence and disturbing imagery. Quickly edited clips, flashing/strobe lights and similar video effects.


PR: New Licenses From Project H!

New news from DMP (Digital Manga Publishers) is always good - and when it's hentai news, that's even better. Just me? That's cool. Anyway, DMP announced through their Twitter page their latest mature title acquisitions and below the jump is the full list, complete with some very NSFW covers. But then it wouldn't be Project H if it wasn't!

There are four titles being released, all with a 18+ rating and without a clear release date. However, it's good to see all four titles shall be available via print and digital means. Goodness knows I need more manga on my Kindle Fire! As it looks, they are all one-shots.

Go below the jump to see the details on all the new H titles! Please be advised that the covers are uncensored and click with caution!


Monday, September 17, 2012

Consolidation: Accel World 23


Episode 23: Haruyuki and Takumu set out for their final showdown with Nomi. Chiyuri wishes to join them, and they agree to let her come along. (Source: Hulu)
Spoiler warning: Post contains spoilers for episode 23. Read with caution!
Oh wow, it's the second to last episode of Accel World' first season already. And I say 'first season' because I refuse to believe that Accel World - with its anime, OVAs, manga, light novels, and video games - cannot garner enough DVD/Blu-Ray sales to get at least one more season of 24-episodes out before the end of 2014. That is just something I refuse to believe is even remotely a possibility, and I think the series itself is banking on that as well.
You can read the bulk of my episode review after the jump:

Thursday, September 13, 2012

Surprise Attack! Little Sister Warning!: NakaImo 9


Shougo is getting a new neighbor and an unexpected surprise. (Source: Crunchyroll)
To say this was one hell of a 'you gotta be kidding me' episode would be the understatement of the century. To toss one's hands up and say "Well, that solves everything" would be a mistake, because NakaImo is the master at pulling the rug out from underneath viewers just when everything seems obvious. But really, viewers, there is a reason the Crunchyroll official synopsis is so damn vague. The first four minutes of this episode will have your head rolling off your shoulders and banging against the floorboards in disbelief.

Tuesday, September 11, 2012

PR: Debut Of Mature Series Over At VIZManga.com!

NANA © 1999
by Yazawa Manga Seisakusho/SHUEISHA Inc.
 

Ed. note: Wow, that is a load of titles. And a lot of really good ones, too! I would definitely recommend NANA for josei fans and Ikigami for drama fans, as well as Butterflies, Flowers for shojo fans.

VIZ MEDIA DEBUTS MATURE MANGA SERIES
ON VIZMANGA.COM

BLACK LAGOON, DOGS, NANA, TENJO TENGE And More Launch This Month On North America’s Leading Digital Manga Platform!

San Francisco, CA, September 11, 2012 – VIZ Media, LLC (VIZ Media), the largest publisher, distributor and licensor of manga and anime in North America, tantalizes readers with a digital collection of nine mature manga (graphic novel) series launching this month on VIZManga.com.

From kinetic action and imaginative science fiction to romance and gothic melodrama, these new additions push the boundaries of the manga medium and share an emphasis on creative quality and unique storylines. The newly available manga series, each rated ‘M’ for Mature Readers, include BLACK LAGOON. BUTTERFLIES, FLOWERS, THE CAIN SAGA, DOGS, DOROHEDORO, IKIGAMI: THE ULTIMATE LIMIT, JORMUMGAND, NANA, and TENJO TENGE. Individual volumes start at $4.99 each.

Monday, September 10, 2012

AMV Of The Week: Super Rad


This week’s AMV is another winner from Natsucon 2012; this one has the distinction of being the only AMV at the convention to trigger a spontaneous mosh pit in front of the main events stage. If you love Gurren Lagann's wacky self, you will definitely love this vid. The music is pretty awesome, too.

AMV: Super Rad
Author: BrandoAKADino
Music: The Aquabats' "Super Rad"
Warnings: Possible spoilers for Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann.


Sunday, September 9, 2012

My Sister Resisted: NakaImo 8


Kunitachi might be Shogo’s sister but he can’t get close to her. Ikusu suggest that Shogo and Kunitachi spend time outside the school to have her drop her guard. (Source: Crunchyroll)
Content notice: The last picture in this post may be considered NSFW. It has to do with the last Shougo/Rinka scene, if that helps.
Well, that was certainly an episode. And what did we learn today, children? Adults are jerks, Shougo is one lucky bastard, and there is apparently no such thing as too much info dumping in the world of NakaImo. Why have informative action scenes when you can have long-winded moments of dialogue instead?
Also, Shougo is a panty man hardcore. No matter how he denies it, one cannot deny his wandering eye when it comes to pantsu. I wonder if he's into shimapan/shima-pantsu? Knowing him, he wouldn't know what to do with a pair of shimapan even if he got his hands on them.

Saturday, September 8, 2012

Determination: Accel World 22


Episode 22: In Akihabara, Haruyuki and Pard hear the name of a Burst Linker called Rust Jigsaw who doesn’t show up on the matching list. Believing he may hold a clue to uncover Dusk Taker’s secret, Haruyuki and Pard challenge Rust Jigsaw to a duel. (Source: Viz Anime)
Spoiler warning: Post contains spoilers for the most recent episodes, from episode 18 and onwards. Read with caution!
So that happened. A really quality batch of Accel World episodes; even the filler-esque arc with Kuroyukihime in Okinawa was very solid and entertaining. But of course, that's how it should be; this series is winding down into its final episodes of its (hopefully not only) first season. With Nomi as the clear 'final boss' of this series, it's a good time to start answering questions and get ready for an epic virtual reality-based smackdown that only a show like Accel World can deliver properly.
Read the rest of my teal deer take on Accel World's most recent episodes after the jump:

Friday, September 7, 2012

Top 6 Favorite VOCALOID Tracks (At The Moment)

Yes, I do owe y'all an Accel World post. That will be tomorrow - I promise. Tonight, it's VOCALOID love all around. I've been inspired by a recent post by Loli Salad, Great Vocaloid Tracks You Can Buy From North American iTunes, to post my current top five favorite computer generated tracks by the Vocaloid stars we love so much. Well, some of us.

(For those few people in anime fandom who have no idea what the hell I'm talking about: Vocaloid is computer generated music based on vocal banks and the fictional idols created around this music. Vocaloid fandom has exploded over the past couple of years to include fan-made music/videos, fanart, video games, animation, and even 'live' concerts featuring some of the Vocaloid artists. If you think that's a lot, try stepping into Touhou Project fandom.)

Anyway, I'm usually preferential to Miku Hatsune, the undisputed queen of Vocaloid fandom, but recently I've been delving into her vocal siblings' discographies and I've found a few gems definitely worth sharing. Of course, that doesn't mean there won't be any Miku in the mix of six (because I'm too indecisive for only five!).


Wednesday, September 5, 2012

PR: TIGER & BUNNY - THE BEGINNING San Francisco Premiere Event on Sep. 29th!


VIZ MEDIA ANNOUNCES NORTH AMERICAN ANIME FEATURE FILM PREMIERE FOR
TIGER & BUNNY – THE BEGINNING

Catch Japan’s First Corporate Superheroes In Their Big Screen Debut At San Francisco’s NEW PEOPLE Cinema; Fans Nationwide Encouraged To Enter TIGER & BUNNY Cosplay Contest To Win Valuable Prizes!

San Francisco, CA, September 5, 2012 – VIZ Media, LLC (VIZ Media), the largest distributor and licensor of anime and manga in North America, brings the hero-inspired big screen action of the smash hit anime property – TIGER & BUNNY – home to the Bay Area as it announces a very special North American theatrical premiere event for TIGER & BUNNY – THE BEGINNING to be held at the NEW PEOPLE Cinema, located inside the dynamic Japanese pop culture entertainment venue in San Francisco’s Japantown at 1746 Post St.

TIGER & BUNNY – THE BEGINNING will screen on Saturday, September 29th at 4:00pm and 7:00pm. The film will be presented with original Japanese dialogue and English subtitles. Advanced Tickets are $10.00 and are available online at NewPeopleWorld.com/films/films-9-2012/; advance ticketholders will receive a limited edition Wild Tiger Card at the premiere screening. Day-of tickets (subject to availability) will be available at the NEW PEOPLE Cinema box office.

The TIGER & BUNNY – THE BEGINNING North American premiere event will also feature a special cosplay contest open to all fans nationwide and those attending the theatrical premiere. The online cosplay contest will kick off on Monday, September 10th and run until Monday, September 28th. Fans are encouraged to don their best TIGER & BUNNY-inspired costume and submit a picture for a chance to win valuable domestic and Japanese TIGER & BUNNY licensed products. 

Tuesday, September 4, 2012

News Round-Up: Little Busters!

You ever start out apathetic to a certain series until the energies by its fandom actually make you interested in said series? That's me and Little Busters!, a series I've been off and on reporting on since it was revealed the Key visual novel would finally get an anime adaptation. Its fans has made me keenly interested in this upcoming anime, which is why I felt obligated to bring more LB related news to this blog.

As of yet, no NA-based company has made any major moves to license Little Busters! for commercial or streaming release. However, I would not be surprised if Crunchyroll eventually decided to simulcast this series for its next season of series.

Monday, September 3, 2012

AMV Of The Week: You Can Nichi If You Want To?


This week’s AMV is hilarious. Utterly, totally hilarious. A perfect mixture of absurdity and iconic dance music. For those who ever thought Nichijou could use more 80's New Wave music, here you go!

AMV: Safety Dance
Author: Shin
Music: Men Without Hats' "The Safety Dance"
Warnings: A lot of fast clips, occasional flashing lights/strobe effects, general strangeness.


Saturday, September 1, 2012

Important DOCTOR WHO Reminder Of The Day

(Well, for Americans anyway; the Brits have already seen it!)


Tonight is the premiere of Doctor Who's seventh season, an episode titled Asylum of the Daleks, featuring Matt Smith as the Eleventh Doctor, Karen Gillan as Amy Pond, and Arthur Darvill as Rory Pond. For those who have BBC America, it will air at 9/8C, with an encore two hours later. Watch it live or DVR it, just make sure if you're a Whovian that you catch it! It looks to be absolutely fantastic.

Note: Since this is a US blog, please keep Doctor Who spoilers out of comments until the episode's aired in the States. Thank you!