Search This Blog

Saturday, March 31, 2012

New Stream On The Block: Meet Viki

Most anime fans know about Crunchyroll as a great source for legit subs of anime series - but a much smaller number are probably aware of Viki, which streams subs of programs that use crowd-sourced translations. They are certainly not limiting themselves to small titles with zero fanbases either as shown by latest news of their license acquisitions, all anime titles, that fit in perfectly with their already existing programming.


According to ANN, some of their recent streaming pick-ups include Black Jack 21, Oniisama E..., Master of Epic, and Waimo-kun. I actually posted about Black Jack 21 in an earlier edition of License Line, so you can imagine I'm super thrilled that Viki will be streaming it so more people can enjoy it (although I still want to own it on DVD!). More info can be found below:

Viki, a website that streams authorized videos with crowd-sourced translations, is releasing eight more television and original net anime titles. The website announced on Thursday that it is streaming Leiji Matsumoto's television anime Ozma as it airs in Japan. 
The first 17 episodes of the Black Jack television anime and its Black Jack 21 sequel are currently available on the website. Crunchyroll is also streaming Black Jack online in North America and the United Kingdom, but this is the first time that Black Jack 21 has been licensed in North America.
As a relatively new player to the streaming game, Viki is certainly making a big splash with these titles. I certainly hope that their entrance into anime ends in success for them. And I certainly can't wait to watch Oniisama E... online! What do you think of Viki? Will you be watching anime with subs on Viki anytime soon, or just stick to your usual sources?

Friday, March 30, 2012

PR: VIZ Media Announces New President And CEO!

VIZ MEDIA NAMES KEN SASAKI PRESIDENT AND CEO
Hidemi Fukuhara Elevated to Vice Chairman

San Francisco, CA, March, 29 2012 – VIZ Media, the largest publisher, distributor and licensor of manga, graphic novels and anime in North America, announced today that Ken Sasaki will succeed Hidemi Fukuhara as President and CEO of the company as of April 1st, 2012.

Sasaki joined VIZ Media in February of 2008 and most recently served as Senior Vice President and General Manager for VIZ Media, where he led the company’s digital content distribution strategy for animation. Sasaki was a driving force behind developing relationships with industry leaders for the digital distribution of anime.

“We have spent the last few years preparing VIZ Media for its digital future,” said Ken Sasaki. “I look forward to expanding our digital distribution channels even further, making manga, graphic novels and anime even more accessible to fans across North America.”

Thursday, March 29, 2012

Fujoshi O'Clock (3/29/12)

What time is it? It's . . . Fujoshi O'Clock, the new weekly feature at Nagareboshi Review, when I bring to you the latest fujoshi-related news and reviews and various shiny BL-flavored things. Why? Because rotten girls need love too!

This week on Fujoshi O'Clock:

Reviews:
Am I missing your blog? Got some awesome fujoshi-related news and reviews you think deserve a shout-out? Poke me with a link and a bit of description over at my Twitter: @theseventhl. I'm always on the look out for more BL love!

Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Signal Boost!: The Artifice Graphic Novel Kickstarter

Any long-time readers know that when it comes to OEL yaoi manga, one of my favorites is Alex Woolfson's webcomic Artifice, a male/male science-fiction drama that has become immensely popular over the past year - and for good reason. Every update is a thrill to read, the characters are multi-dimensional and make the story come alive, and Woolfson's mixture of humor and action is one not to be mixed.

So, naturally, I have to bring to you the news that Woolfson has started up a Kickstarter fund for the release of Artifice in graphic novel form. His page explains very thoroughly what funders will get, as well as some essential info behind Artifice itself and who writes it. I especially liked how Woolfson talks about why he started up Artifice, an answer that will resonate with other LGBT authors.

Why did you write Artifice? 
As a gay kid growing up, I loved sci-fi and action stories. But I never got to see what I really wanted to see and that’s kick-ass genre stories with gay heroes. Not just gay characters who were the comic relief or who committed suicide or got killed in the end so that the straight protagonist could wind up with the girl. But good stories with real, three-dimensional heroes who get a chance to save the day and who also just happens to like other guys.  
With Artifice, I've tried to create the kind of story I’ve always wanted to see.

It has already reached its projected goal - and then some - but the more backers it gets, the more delicious goodies Alex and co. will create for Artifice backers, including bonus comics and exclusive Q&A videos among others.

So - if you have some spare cash hanging around and want to support a groundbreaking sci-fi LGBT webcomic's foray into print, why not give some Woolfson's way? And don't forget to read his new web series, The Young Protectors, a story about superheroes which looks more than promising.

Tuesday, March 27, 2012

AMV Of The Week: No Hesitation

This week’s AMV was the second-place runner up for Kawakon 2012's AMV contest, based on the Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya film. If there was a third place fan vid, they haven’t put it up on YouTube yet! Anyhow, it’s a lovely video set to a rather beautiful Imogen Heap song. Plus, look at all the Yuki! I love her so.

AMV: No Hesitation (2.0)
Author: yodizzle
Music: Imogen Heap's "The Moment I Said It"
Warnings: Spoilers for the Haruhi film. Occasionally flash of bright lights. Blood and images of violence in one portion.


Monday, March 26, 2012

PR: 3 More VIZ Manga Digital Debuts, Including GENKAKU PICASSO, PRINCE OF TENNIS!

VIZ MEDIA DELIVERS A SECOND DIGITAL UPDATE FOR MARCH OF NEW MANGA SERIES LAUNCHING ON VIZMANGA.COM AND THE VIZ MANGA APP FOR iPAD, iPHONE AND iPOD TOUCH
THE PRINCE OF TENNIS © 1999
by Takeshi Konomi/SHUEISHA Inc.

GENKAKU PICASSO, THE PRINCE OF TENNIS And
YU-GI-OH! 5D’s Join The Extensive VIZ Manga Digital Library

VIZ Media continues to stir the imaginations of fans across North America with the latest announcement of a second update for the month of March featuring four new manga (graphic novel) series set to debut on VIZManga.com and for digital download on the VIZ MANGA App for the Apple iPad®, iPhone® and iPod® touch.

The newest update commences on Monday, March 26th and features the digital launch of the surreal art-adventure of GENKAKU PICASSO, the on- and off-court sports action of THE PRINCE OF TENNIS, and the tense high-speed drama of YU-GI-OH! 5D’s. The new properties join six other VIZ Media manga titles that also launched earlier this month on VIZManga.com and the VIZ MANGA App.

The VIZ MANGA APP is available for free through the iTunes Store and all manga volumes are generally available for purchase and download in the U.S. and Canada within the application for $4.99 (U.S. / CAN) per volume. More than 45 series and 500+ volumes are currently available for download.

It's a Microscopic World!: Moyashimon Returns

Since the first Moyashimon series aired in 2007, I've been eagerly awaiting a second season - and it seems my wishes have been answered! Moyashimon is to return with a new season of anime in July of this year! I know that Moyashimon was not exactly the most popular anime in the 2007 season, but hopefully this new series will give audiences a second chance to get acquainted with its fresh, quirky self.


For those who do not know, Moyashimon is the tale of college freshman Tadayasu Sawaki, who has the ability to see and interact with the microbes all around him, the little organisms and germs that we unconsciously take for granted. And they're pretty darn cute, too! More details of this new Moyashimon anime can be read below (full details are in the ANN article linked above).
Another television anime adaptation of Masayuki Ishikawa's MoyashimonTales of Agriculture manga has been green-lit under the title Moyashimon Returns. The new anime will premiere in Fuji TV's late-night programming block Noitamina on Thursdays this July. 
There is also a new companion book to the series that shipped with the eleventh volume of the Moyashimon manga, called "Moyashibon". It's a shame the series is selling so poorly in America; we'll probably never be able to read it legally in English, sadface. Still, let's all hope that someone licenses the simulcast rights for this anime! Funimation? Crunchyroll? Anyone?

Sunday, March 25, 2012

Interesting News Piece Of The Day

Because I can't be the only one who gets excited about Thermae Romae-related news articles, right?

ANN: Thermae Romae Manga, Travel Mag Team Up On Japanese Bath Guide.
Rurubu Thermae Romae, a collaboration between the Japanese travel magazine Rurubu and Mari Yamazaki's Thermae Romae bathhouse manga, went on sale in Japan on Saturday. The magazine, which features an original cover by Yamazaki, has Thermae Romae's protaognist Lucius introducing readers to his 100 top Japanese baths, as well as an interview with Yamazaki and individuals involved with the Thermae Romae live-action film. 
Anything with more of Lucius is a win in my book! For those interested, I reviewed the Thermae Romae anime series earlier this year; it's a very humorous, inventive anime that I would suggest to anyone interested in Japanese and Greek culture or just an educated bit of fun.

Thursday, March 22, 2012

Fujoshi O'Clock (3/22/12)

What time is it? It's . . . Fujoshi O'Clock, the new weekly feature at Nagareboshi Review, when I bring to you the latest fujoshi-related news and reviews and various shiny BL-flavored things. Why? Because rotten girls need love too!

This week on Fujoshi O'Clock:

Reviews:

Am I missing your blog? Got some awesome fujoshi-related news and reviews you think deserve a shout-out? Poke me with a link and a bit of description over at my Twitter: @theseventhl. I'm always on the look out for more BL love!

Wednesday, March 21, 2012

PR: VIZ Media To Create Original Graphic Novels for REDAKAI Hit Animated Series

© 2012 Spin Master and Marathon Media.
^(TM) & © 2012 Cartoon Network.
VIZ Media Acquires Publishing License from Cartoon Network Enterprises and Spin Master Ltd.

San Francisco, CA, March 21, 2012 – VIZ Media, the largest distributor and licensor of anime and manga in the North America, announced today a deal with Cartoon Network Enterprises, the exclusive licensing agent for Spin Master’s full portfolio of brands, to create original graphic novels for Spin Master Ltd. and Marathon Media’s REDAKAI, the popular animated series and innovative trading card game.

REDAKAI follows the adventures of Team Stax as they race against competitors searching the world for mystical Kairu energy, the primal power of the universe.  In the hands of good, Kairu is a living force that guides the universe. But in the hands of evil, Kairu is the most destructive power in the world. Those who can harness it can eventually obtain the highest rank of Kairu warrior, a Redakai. Set in exotic locales with amazing battles, monstrous warriors, and super powers, the REDAKAI animated television series has been a hit for young boys 6-12 since its debut on Cartoon Network in July 2011.



Tuesday, March 20, 2012

AMV Of The Week: Tonight Tonight

This week’s AMV is a special pic as this one won the AMV contest at this year’s Kawakon, which went on this weekend. Also the reason why I wasn’t posting either yesterday or the day before, just so you know! Please be sure to leave a comment at the original video page if you enjoyed it!

AMV: Tonight Tonight ~Anime Mix~
Author: Mimikukuchiki
Music: Hot Chelle Rae’s “Tonight Tonight”
Warnings: Occasional flashing lights, quickly moving clips.


Monday, March 19, 2012

PR: Six Series Debut on VIZ Manga App and VIZManga.com Today!

YU-GI-OH! GX © 2005 by Kazuki Takahashi,
Naoyuki Kageyama/SHUEISHA Inc.
© K. Takahashi
© NAS/TV TOKYO
 
VIZ MEDIA LAUNCHES 6 NEW MANGA SERIES ON VIZMANGA.COM AND THE VIZ MANGA APP FOR iPAD, iPHONE AND iPOD TOUCH

BUSO RENKIN, THE EARL AND THE FAIRY, HIKARU NO GO, PSYREN, TEGAMI BACHI and YU-GI-OH! GX Join The Extensive VIZ Manga Digital Library This Month!

VIZ Media delivers more digital manga (graphic novel) excitement to fans this month with the announcement of the launch of 7 new series are now available on VIZManga.com and for digital download on the VIZ MANGA App for the Apple iPad®, iPhone® and iPod® touch. The new series include BUSO RENKIN, THE EARL AND THE FAIRY, HIKARU NO GO, PSYREN, TEGAMI BACHI, and YU GI OH! GX.

The VIZ MANGA APP is available for free through the iTunes Store and all manga volumes are generally available for purchase and download in the U.S. and Canada within the application for $4.99 (U.S. / CAN) per volume. More than 45 series and 500+ volumes are currently available for download.

Friday, March 16, 2012

Fujoshi O'Clock: The Late Edition

What time is it? It's . . . Fujoshi O'Clock, the new weekly feature at Nagareboshi Review, when I bring to you the latest fujoshi-related news and reviews and various shiny BL-flavored things. Why? Because rotten girls need love too!

This week on Fujoshi O'Clock:

Reviews:
  •  ふう子 at Hazukashii Kedo reviews Aniya Yuji's CVS one-shot which is totally sexy and totally not safe for work.
  • Connie at Slightly Biased Manga reviews Like A Love Comedy by Aki Morimoto, a light novel about a writer and his superstar leading actor's sudden romance.
  • Brain Vs. Book reviews equus by est em, a collection of short stories with a focus on male centaurs in probably the only centaur-related BL manga this year or next.
  • Kinukitty at The Hooded Utilitarian reviews I Give To You by Ebishi Maki, a story of a tea house and the smoking pretty boy that works there.


Am I missing your blog? Got some awesome fujoshi-related news and reviews you think deserve a shout-out? Poke me with a link and a bit of description over at my Twitter: @theseventhl. I'm always on the look out for more BL love!

Wednesday, March 14, 2012

PR: VIZ Media Highlights at WonderCon in Anaheim, March 16-18th!

ONE PIECE © 1997
by Eiichiro Oda/SHUEISHA Inc.
TORIKO © 2008
by Mitsutoshi Shimabukuro/SHUEISHA Inc.
VISIT VIZ MEDIA AT WONDERCON, BOOTH #206
VIZ MEDIA ANNOUNCES ACTIVITIES AND CONVENTION EXCLUSIVES FOR WONDERCON 2012

VIZ Media Treats Attendees To Special “Test Drives” Of New WEEKLY SHONEN JUMP ALPHA Digital Manga Magazine

San Francisco, CA, March 13, 2012 – VIZ Media, LLC (VIZ Media), the largest distributor and licensor of anime and manga in North America, returns to WonderCon 2012 as the show comes to Anaheim, CA, March 16th-18th at the Anaheim Convention Center. WonderCon is one of the country's best comics and pop culture conventions. VIZ Media will be located in Booth 206. Complete details on WonderCon are available at: www.comic-con.org/wc.

Throughout the convention, VIZ Media will treat WonderCon attendees to special “test drives” of the company’s new WEEKLY SHONEN JUMP ALPHA digital manga magazine. Drop by the VIZ Media booth, sample the new digital content, and complete a special survey to be entered to win a new Apple iPad 2! The winner will be notified following the show.

Each new digital edition of WEEKLY SHONEN JUMP ALPHA treats manga fans in North America to the latest chapters of some of the world’s most popular manga series only two weeks after they debut in Japan’s massively popular WEEKLY SHONEN JUMP magazine. Featured series include BAKUMAN。, BLEACH, NARUTO, NURA: RISE OF THE YOKAI CLAN, ONE PIECE, and TORIKO. WEEKLY SHONEN JUMP ALPHA is available through an annual membership that provides 52 weeks of access to 48 weekly issues for just $25.99; members also receive an annual collector’s yearbook, collectable YU-GI-OH! game cards four times a year, and access to exclusive content. As a show special, attendees that become new members will receive a special bonus premium (while supplies last).

Manga Review: D.Gray-man GN 21

D.Gray-man volume 21
Author: Katsura Hoshino
Viz Media
200 pages

Major spoiler warning: Review contains spoilers for the D.Gray-man series so far. Read on with caution!

Allen has been dropped into a flashback of his surly colleague Yu Kanda's past, where a parade of disturbing secrets reveal themselves--including one that could at long last explain what makes Yu tick!

I honestly do not know what to make of this most recent volume of D.Gray-man except that holy shit, Kanda, even your issues have issues. Hot sexy skinny super-powered issues with a whole lot of ho yay and foe yay between the both of em. Err. Ahem. Aside from that, Katsura Hoshino manages to cram a whole lot of something into one single volume, which in the hands of any manga-ka would quickly become a hot mess of confusion and artistic frenzies. In Hoshino's hands, it only becomes a slightly better than most volume of confusion and artistic frenzies.

Let’s be honest. If you are still struggling to follow the wibbley wobbly plotty wotty line of this story, volume 21 is going to infuriate you. Unless you are like me, who has decided to keep calm and forget about following a dang thing over just following the pretty art and angsty characters.

Read the rest of the review after the jump!

Monday, March 12, 2012

AMV Of The Week: Save Me

This week’s AMV is a stunning Chaos;Head video that manages to turn a disturbing story of a NEET into something even more eerie than the original, bordering on right-out creepy. Good lord! A lot of clever editing and some very fitting music make this a must-watch for fans of the series.

AMV: Save Me
Author: HiDeaki
Music: Morandi's "Save Me (feat. Helene)"
Warnings: Flashing colored lights, quick cuts between clips. Seizure warning.



Sunday, March 11, 2012

Manga Review: XXXHOLiC GN 19

XXXHOLiC volume 19
Author: CLAMP
Del Rey Books
192 pages

Major spoiler warning: Do not read the following review – even the book summary! – if you are not up-to-date with the series so far. Read at your own peril!

Final volume: Kimihiro Watanuki has passed through many trials by fire. Once an indentured servant, he has matured and become the poised and skilled keeper of the shop that grants wishes. But Watanuki’s final wish is for himself: to meet the witch Yûko one more time. With Yûko long vanished from our world, is it even possible? That question and others are answered now in the concluding volume of the bestselling manga XXXHOLiC!

This is the XXXHOLiC finale, tying up the story of Watanuki and Yûko once and for all, but it does not feel like any finale I've ever known. It doesn't even feel climactic in nature. If the back cover had not told me it was the final volume, I might still be awaiting a twentieth volume. For some series, an inconclusive and vague ending suits them just fine; not so in a series like XXXHOLiC which has built itself up on mysteries and riddles that require some sort of answer to make the reader feel satisfied with its end. Well, XXXHOLiC does none of these things and this is what lets the whole manga down in the end: CLAMP's refusal to draw up an actual, definitive ending to one of their more infamous series.

Friday, March 9, 2012

Kubo Tite: Writer, Artist, Poet?

A little food for thought late Friday night, in the form of a blog post by the author of the Manga Therapy blog: Tite Kubo - The Best Poet In Manga? The Poetry Of BLEACH.

In this post, the MT blog takes a close look at the poems that introduce every volume of Bleach and how they add insight into the characters they are paired with as well as the manga-ka himself. It also contains an excerpt from an interview with Kubo Tite himself, in which he talks about his poetry writing process.

MT also makes a good point about how Kubo Tite's poetry are stories, stories of the people that populate his long-running shonen series, in ways his scripts cannot:

Clever metaphors and imagery have powerful applications. Kubo’s passion for poems shows how much he is intrigued by the psychology of humanity. Individuals are filled with stories and experiences. Stories that are meant to be told. Experiences that are meant to be shared.

I've always been a great fan of the poems KT puts into his tankoubon releases of Bleach, so it's cool to find a blogger who agrees with me: Kubo's poetry deserve more love! Feel free to share your own favorite poems of his in the comment section of either this post or the original post at Manga Therapy's blog.

P.S. I think we could also make the argument that the way he titles his volumes verges on the poetic as well. Yes or no?

Thursday, March 8, 2012

PR: Classic Shojo Manga HANA-KIMI and SKIP BEAT! Ominibus Editions Now Available!

Hanazakari no Kimitachi he
© Hisaya Nakajo 1996/HAKUSENSHA, Inc.
VIZ MEDIA ANNOUNCES NEW 3-IN-1 OMNIBUS MANGA EDITIONS FOR HANA-KIMI AND SKIP·BEAT!

New Releases Of Two Classic Shojo Manga Series Each Bundle Three Complete Volumes Into A Single Handy Edition

San Francisco, CA, March 6, 2012 – VIZ Media, LLC (VIZ Media), the largest distributor and licensor of anime and manga in North America, offers fans a double-dose of shojo manga (graphic novel) fun today with the release of new omnibus 3-in-1 editions for a pair of classic series – SKIP·BEAT! and HANA-KIMI.  Each of the new releases from the company’s Shojo Beat imprint bundles 3 complete manga volumes into a handy and compact reading companion.

HANA-KIMI 3-in-1 Edition Volume 1 · Rated “T+” for Older Teens ·
MSRP: $14.99 U.S. / $16.99 CAN · Available March 6th   
Mizuki Ashiya has such a crush on a track star named Izumi Sano that she moves from the U.S. to Japan to enroll in the all-male high school he attends! Pretending to be a boy, Mizuki eventually becomes Sano’s roommate… but how can she keep such a big secret when she’s so close to the guy she likes?

Wednesday, March 7, 2012

Fujoshi O'Clock (3/7/12)

What time is it? It's . . . Fujoshi O'Clock, the new weekly feature at Nagareboshi Review, when I bring to you the latest fujoshi-related news and reviews and various shiny BL-flavored things. Why? Because rotten girls need love too!

This week on Fujoshi O'Clock:

Reviews:

Am I missing your blog? Got some awesome fujoshi-related news and reviews you think deserve a shout-out? Poke me with a link and a bit of description over at my Twitter: @theseventhl. I'm always on the look out for more BL love!

Tuesday, March 6, 2012

AMV Of The Week: Futuristic Lover

This week’s AMV is pretty darn hot. It's a Bakemonogatari fan video that is choc full of delicious sexual tension bordering on full-out sex, along with a metric ton of fanservice. But oh, is it put together so well. Just . . . make sure you watch it by yourself, and the door is closed, okay?

AMV: Futuristic Lover
Author: Okami/Revived Studio
Music: Katy Perry's "E.T."
Warnings: Scenes of straight-up sexuality and sexy ladies, Bakemonogatari-style. NSFW saucy-ass images.


Monday, March 5, 2012

PR: Delve Into The World of BLEACH, in the 2nd Character Book Debuting Tomorrow!

VIZ MEDIA INVITES FANS TO EXPLORE THE SUPERNATURAL WORLD OF THE HIT MANGA SERIES BLEACH IN NEW BLEACH MASKED: OFFICIAL CHARACTER BOOK 2

Informative Character And Story Guide Features Extensive Data,
 Full Color Poster, Color Art, Creator Interviews And Much More!

BLEACH OFFICIAL CHARACTER BOOK 2 MASKED
© 2010 by Tite Kubo/SHUEISHA Inc.
San Francisco, CA, March 5, 2012 – VIZ Media, LLC (VIZ Media), the largest distributor and licensor of anime and manga in North America, offers BLEACH fans a treasure trove of information about the smash hit manga (graphic novel) series with the release of BLEACH MASKED: OFFICIAL CHARACTER BOOK 2 on March 6th. The new edition is rated ‘T’ for Teens and will carry an MSRP of $14.99 U.S. / $16.99 CAN.

Uncover the many secrets of BLEACH in this informative profile book that contains extensive data on the characters and storylines from Volumes 21-37 of the manga series (also published by VIZ Media; digital manga available on VIZManga.com and the VIZ Manga App for iOS devices). The new release also includes exclusive color art, a full-color poster, bonus materials and a special interview with creator Tite Kubo. Step into the ghostly world of BLEACH like never before!

Ichigo Kurosaki never asked for the ability to see ghosts – he was born with the gift. When his family is attacked by a Hollow, a malevolent lost soul, Ichigo becomes a Soul Reaper and dedicates his life to protecting the innocent and helping tortured spirits find peace.

A Osamu Tezuka MMF Link Post

This February for Manga Moveable Feast was all about Osamu Tezuka's works - and it was loads of fun, blogging about a manga-ka that deserves all the attention he receives. His works are legendary pieces of art that continue to attract new generations of readers. Tezuka was one of those prolific historic manga-ka who created so many memorable stories and characters. For my own blog, I especially focused on his mysterious surgeon character Black Jack, among others. I can't wait to do more blog posts about Tezuka's works.

Below are some of the great blog posts written by other people for Tezuka MMF. Please be sure to leave a comment on their blog if you like what you read!

If you saw any really cool Tezuka MMF posts during February that you'd like to share, feel free to drop a link or two in the comments section. I'd love to read them!

Friday, March 2, 2012

PR: Shojo Beat Releases THE EARL AND THE FAIRY Manga This Month!

HAKUSHAKU TO YOSEI-COMIC EDITION-
© 2008 by Mizue Tani, Ayuko/SHUEISHA Inc.

FANTASY AND INTRIGUE AWAIT READERS IN THE NEW VIZ MEDIA SHOJO MANGA SERIES THE EARL AND THE FAIRY

A Fairy Doctor Who Sees Magical Creatures Helps An Aristocrat Search For A Legendary Sword And Hunt A Mysterious Killer

San Francisco, CA, March 1, 2012 – VIZ Media, LLC (VIZ Media), the largest distributor and licensor of anime and manga in North America, launches a fantastic tale of fairies and fantasy set in against the backdrop of Victorian England with the debut of THE EARL AND THE FAIRY on March 6th. The new Shojo Beat series, created by Mizue Tani with artwork by Ayuko, is rated ‘T’ for Teens and will carry an MSRP of $9.99 U.S. / $12.99 CAN.

Lydia Carlton is a fairy doctor and one of the few people with the ability to see the magical creatures who share our world. During one of her rare trips to London to visit her father, Lydia’s quiet life is suddenly transformed when she is rescued from kidnappers by a mysterious young man!

Edgar Ashenbert claims to be descended from the human ruler of the fairy kingdom, and he urgently needs Lydia’s help to find and claim his birthright, the legendary sword of the Blue Knight Earl. Things will never be the same for Lydia as she is pulled into a dangerous quest against dark forces!

Thursday, March 1, 2012

Fujoshi O'Clock (3/1/12)

What time is it? It's . . . Fujoshi O'Clock, the new weekly feature at Nagareboshi Review, when I bring to you the latest fujoshi-related news and reviews and various shiny BL-flavored things. Why? Because rotten girls need love too!

This week on Fujoshi O'Clock:

Reviews:

Am I missing your blog? Got some awesome fujoshi-related news and reviews you think deserve a shout-out? Poke me with a link and a bit of description over at my Twitter: @theseventhl. I'm always on the look out for more BL love!