Search This Blog

Wednesday, December 31, 2014

Wednesday Briefs: Washed Right Out, Chapter Fourteen

Not only is this the last Wednesday Briefs of 2014, it'll probably be my last post of 2014. I was going to write up something pithy to cap off the year, but instead I've got this. I'll write up some kind of wrap-up post for the year later this week, though! 
In the meantime, enjoy the last 2014 installment of Washed Right Out, in which Riley makes a friend and something wicked his way comes...
Washed Right Out, Chapter Fourteen. Prompts used: have a character return a gift.
When Riley had returned to the Belle Facce office with a stranger in tow, the sleepy series of cubicles suddenly took notice of his new blond friend. Fiore quickly found himself the source of work coming to a sudden halt as everyone made a beeline to introduce themselves, and ask him how he and Riley met.
Say we're childhood friends or something, Riley said. Say you're an old school pal who just happened to run into me on the sidewalk. Say you're a visiting alien from outer space who finds our way of life fascinating. Anything but you're the random guy who saved me from my abusive ex-boyfriend and then walked me across the street because I was too afraid to do it myself.
"We literally just met!" Fiore chirped, crushing Riley's need for a cover story. Luckily, Fiore didn't mention Jonathan, or the confrontation between the three of them.

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

The Legend of Korra Finale Is Everything I Ever Wanted Because Korrasami

Major spoiler alert: Post contains spoilers for the series finale of Legend of Korra.
I'm a bisexual lady who loves geeky shit and I wish I had grown up watching Legend of Korra. I wish Korra had been around when I was a little kid, and not just because my rough tomboy but nerdy grade school self can identify with Korra's struggle to fit in, to not answer every problem with her fists, to see herself as part of a bigger legacy that has been in the making for thousands of years.
I'm talking about the fact that Legend of Korra gave us a no nonsense, short haired beautiful woman who grew up to be kind and generous and understanding and is also bisexual. And god damn, that matters. And that's why Korra's finale—with Korra and Asami holding hands and walking into the spirit portal together—means the world to me right now.

Saturday, December 27, 2014

Fujoshi O'Clock (12/27/14)

What time is it? It's Fujoshi O'Clock, a regular feature at Nagareboshi Review, when I bring to you the latest fujoshi-related news and reviews and various shiny BL-flavored things. There is also a focus on trans and bisexual anime/manga. Why? Because rotten girls need love too!

This week on Fujoshi O'Clock:

  • The final Right Turn Only column at ANN includes discusses a BL manga by Setona Mizushiro, Kyuso wa Cheese no Yume o Miro, which is not yet licensed in English.
  • Fujoshi-bait sports series Kuroko's Basketball is being featured at a Japanese hot spring, to promote an onsen (and probably the anime's upcoming third season).
  • Ogiue Maniax's Fujoshi Files series has been rapidly updated over the past couple of weeks: there is now Sakuraba Midori from the yuri manga Gakuen Polizi, schoolgirl Kanamori Hakata from Ebiten, and doujinshi manga-ka Saotome Haruna from the popular series Negima!.
  • Bateszi Anime Blog discusses the anime series No. 6 in the context of the 'paranoid reader and the non-sexual'.

Reviews:


Am I missing your blog? Got some awesome fujoshi-related news and reviews you think deserve a shout-out? Poke me with a link and a bit of description over at my Twitter: @theseventhl. I'm always on the look out for more BL love!

Thursday, December 25, 2014

Obligatory Merry Christmas Post!


For those who celebrate it, I hope you are having a merry Christmas today! And for those who don't, I hope you are having a merry December 25 (and hopefully enjoying a break from school and work)! I will be spending the day with family, being lazy for the holidays and enjoying good food, good company, and the good feeling of not having to do anything of importance and not feeling bad about it.

See you on the other side of Christmas Day! ♥

Wednesday, December 24, 2014

Manga Review: Attack On Titan GN 14

Attack On Titan volume 14
Author: Hajime Isayama
Kodansha Comics
192 pages
Commander Erwin has finally come to a decision: Putting their own wealth and position ahead of the survival of humanity, the royal government is no longer fit to lead. To execute their leader’s most audacious plan yet, Eren and Krista will have to put themselves in peril yet again, and Armin, Mikasa, and the rest of the Survey Corps will have to turn from humanity’s guardians into traitors. If they fail this time, they’ll face not a Titan’s gaping mouth, but the gallows…
Maybe this is a sign I'm slowly starting to get burned out on the Attack On Titan manga, because this volume was good, but it was frustrating at times and ridiculous at others. For a series centered around colossal human-looking beasts that tower above everything and eat people like gummy bears, you expect a certain level of the absurd but volume 14 really takes the cake.
It's not even the fact that the series has shifted its focus from fighting titans to fighting government corruption, because in such a closely collected community of paranoia and desperation as those who live behind the walls, this kind of in-fighting is bound to happen. No, it's just that some of the plot twists that Isayama throws at us with the subtlety of a quick brick that has me groaning.

New Anime PV From Key For Charlotte, To Air 2015

So kill me, I've never actually sat down and finished an entire Key series - I gave up on Kanon pretty quickly, never got around to finishing Little Busters even though I enjoyed the first episode, and Clannad and its myriad sequels has been on my To Watch List for ages.

Charlotte, however - an upcoming collab between Key, Aniplex and PA Works - looks pretty dynamite and has been added to be To Watch List already. You can find the official PV below:


First of all, that piano is banging. I want that song! I wouldn't be surprised if it doesn't feature in the Charlotte series, either as part of the OP or in the score. The animation in the PV is very polished and dynamic, which is hopefully the overall aesthetic of Charlotte.

For some reason, the main female character reminds me of Rin Tosaka from Fate/Stay Night, albeit a little younger and with a lighter hair color.

Are you planning on watching Charlotte when it airs next year? Or are you going to wait until another PV and some plot/cast details come out until you decide?

Friday, December 19, 2014

Open Thread: Legend of Korra Series Finale


Technically, the Korra finale airs tonight on NickToons - which is how I plan on watching it - but I know it was released online beforehand, so there's no point not having an open thread about the dang thing now. Drop all your Korra-related feelings and thoughts here!

Note: to avoid spoilers, I won't be able to read comments until tomorrow morning. Try and keep it civil if you do comment.

Psst, here's the official release schedule of the Korra finale from Bryan Konietzko's Tumblr, just so everyone knows the full details.

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Wednesday Briefs: Washed Right Out, Chapter Thirteen

Hey hey! New Wednesday Briefs update before the Christmas vacation! In this installment of Washed Right Out, Riley gets a cold welcome from an ex and an unlikely hero arrives to save the day. There will be danger! There will be intrigue! There will be blood! Actually, I have just been informed there will not be blood. But you'll still like it!

Washed Right Out, Chapter Thirteen. Prompts used: we need to talk, have a character take a sick day.
"Riles. You're here."
A hand—Jonathan's hand—set itself on Riley's shoulder. He’d been trapped. The usage of his nickname—Riles—had once thrilled him, but now it terrified him. The other man's hand felt cold through his shirt, and Riley immediately regretted not bringing his overcoat.
"It's okay," Jonathan continued. "You don't have to say anything. You don't even have to look at me."

Tuesday, December 16, 2014

PR: Viz Promotes New Digital Manga Titles, End of Year Sale

Vampire Knight © Matsuri Hino
2004/HAKUSENSHA, Inc.
Round Out The Year With The Launch Of 4 New Manga Series And A Special Year-End Promotion Offering Up To 70% Off On All Digital Manga Titles

VIZ Media completes December with a final digital manga update for the year. Fans and readers can wrap up 2014 and accent their holiday season with a wide variety of new manga (graphic novel) volumes as well as catch the launch of a trio of exciting new series from the VIZ Select imprint and new Shojo title.

VIZ Media also ends the year with its annual digital manga sale. For a limited time only – from December 15th to January 15th – readers can dive into scores of new series or catch up on continuing favorites for up to 70% off the regular digital MSRP on digital manga titles featured on VIZManga.com and the VIZ Manga App

Some titles will be available for as low as $1.99. Special sale pricing also may be available from a variety of partner’s digital platforms. Check partner sites for details and specific pricing.

New Digital Manga Series Debuts:

YUKARISM, Vol. 1 · Rated ‘T’ for Teens ·
DIGITAL MSRP: $6.99 (U.S. / CAN) · Available Now!
In this new series from the creator of YURARA and RASETSU, Yukari Kobayakawa, an accomplished author at the age of 17, writes with amazingly accurate details about historical Japan. As it turns out, he has the ability to slip into his past life in the Edo period—as a beautiful, renowned courtesan named Yumurasaki!

Monday, December 15, 2014

Sunshine and Murder, Or When Another Goes To The Beach

Spoiler alert: Post contains spoilers for Another episode 8, "Hair stand", and other plot elements from the rest of the series.
A melon that looks like it's been murdered?
Yep, it's Another.
I knew I wanted to blog again about Another, now that I have finished the anime, but I had been visibly torn over whether to blog about the series' use of whispers and gossip throughout all twelve episodes or just concentrate on the beach episode and how great it was.
Eventually, I decided. Bugger it, beach episode of Another all the way. Why not? It's the holidays. Let's talk about girls in bikinis on the beach and bloody, bloody murder. 'Tis the season to talk killer curses.

Saturday, December 13, 2014

December Link Post: Saturday Night's All Right For Link Spam

Here are some of the great and interesting items I've read since the last link dump:

  • Lauren at Otaku Journalist is kicking off her 2014 edition of Twelve Days of Anime, something she took part in last year and was great to read every day. I'd participate as well but I didn't even watch enough anime this year to cover twelve days of talking about it.
  • Smart Bitchy, Trashy Books talk about the latest attempt by mainstream television to cater to geeks and nerds who love adventure shows, the TNT program the Librarians. I dunno - it sounds like a brainless version of Warehouse 13.
  • The Asahi Shimbun talks about the Westernized Doraemon and how it was brought over to America via Disney XD. I didn't realize his "yummy buns" were actually cut down in amount, yikes!
  • My fave music blogger and IRL friend Gaosalad has introduced me to a new J-Pop group, Color-Code, whose "I LIKE DAT" music video pleases me on so many levels. They're like a cross between Capsule, Saori@Destiny, and Ayu herself.
  • [CW: racialized slurs, anti-Chinese slurs] It's more about Chinese-centric racism than Asia in general, but it's worth a read for anime fans who interact with Asian culture on a regular basis: s.e. smith writes on Chop Suey, Ching Chong and Asia in pop culture.
  • Lastly, at the Hungry Bug Diner, ABCBTom writes about Sayo Yamamoto and her use of charcoals for anime art, in series like Attack on Titan, Psycho-Pass and Eureka Seven.

Thursday, December 11, 2014

Manga Review: Kamisama Kiss GN 16

Kamisama Kiss volume 16
Author: Julietta Suzuki
Viz Manga/Shojo Beat
200 pages
Back in feudal Japan, Akura-oh is getting frustrated with his best friend and rampage companion Tomoe. He correctly guesses that Tomoe is lovesick, and decides the best way to deal with it is to kill the object of his affection--Yukiji! And to make matters worse, when Nanami wears historical clothes, she looks an awful lot like Yukiji! Can she manage to preserve the past, save Tomoe, protect Yukiji and keep from getting killed?!
I am really digging the current time travel arc in Kamisama Kiss. I'm a big fan of shows which incorporate time travel into their stories and have near-time paradox situations that actually work out (with a little in series explanation, of course) – LOST did this very well in seasons four and five – and Kamisama Kiss' own "rescue Tomoe with the past" arc is coming along well.
In this volume, Nanami works harder than ever to find a cure for Tomoe's curse, determined to find Kuromaro of Mount Ontake, wherever that may be. Her mission gets slightly sidetracked after escaping from Akura-oh's company and falling back in with Yukiji, but it looks like Nanami's more than passing resemblance to the other woman will become a useful tool to ward off a couple of mischievous, dangerous demons.

Wednesday, December 10, 2014

Wednesday Briefs: Washed Right Out, Chapter Twelve

It's been a while, but I've finally written a new chapter of Washed Right Out for Wednesday Briefs. If you need a refresher course on what's already happened - and I wouldn't blame you! - you can check the Wednesday Briefs or the original fiction tag, found at the bottom of this post. 

In this installment of Washed Right Out, Riley wrestles with seeing his ex Jonathan again and there is an unusual confrontation.


Washed Right Out, Chapter Twelve. Prompts used: have your character buy something.
Riley truly wanted to follow Karen's thoughtful, learned advice of staying in his office and waiting to be kidnapped, but there was something he had to do. He would have to talk to Jonathan, once and for all. He could end the situation all by himself.

Monday, December 8, 2014

The Another Music Video - Now With 200% More Chibi Misaki

I have to give the Flash animated music video Another: Misaki Mei - Shizuka ni major props. It made a short video about a stoic-faced eyepatch wearing schoolgirl absolutely adorable. It's not the most exciting video ever, but it's nice to watch. Plus, it feels like the song really fits Misaki's character: a girl who has accepted being lonely and being alone, only to find hope in an unusual source (which could easily be Kouichi).


According to the Another wikia, it's no wonder "Shizuka ni" fits Misaki Mei as a character. It is actually Mei's character song - sung by Mei's own VA, Natsumi Takamori. She has a really nice, pleasant voice and probably sounds familiar to fans of Houkago no Pleiades and the Pet Girl of Sakurasou, as Takamori performed the opening song for both series.

Considering how dark and bloody the main Another series can get, it's nice to see that at least one aspect of it can turn from gruesome to darling. Chibi Mei makes everything better.

Friday, December 5, 2014

Return The Dead To Death: Another The Complete Series

Another/アナザー: 26 years ago, in a third-year classroom of a middle school, there was a student named Misaki. As an honours student, also good at sports, the charming guy was popular with his classmates. When he suddenly died, his classmates decided to carry on as if he was still alive until graduation. Then, in the spring of 1998, a boy named Sakakibara Kouichi transfers to that class, and he grows suspicious of the fearful atmosphere in that classroom. (Source: AniDB)

Spoilers for all twelve episodes of the Another anime series.

I've seen people describe Another as the anime equivalent of the Final Destination films, those teeny bopper horror films where young people are routinely made the victims of horrific deaths made to look like accidents, hunted by a mysterious and dark entity. It's an apt comparison but it sells Another short.

Final Destination as a series became contrived and dragged on towards its own eventual demise, and Death is a literal villain to be cheated out of its rewards. Another is a perfectly contained story of human-created horrors and the terror of death, not as an overbearing spirit but as the inevitable fate we all fight to avoid on a regular basis, some more violently than others.

A better comparison might be made between Another and the Higurashi no Naku Koro ni series: both take place in small, near claustrophobic villages; both deal with the regular, almost annual deaths of its citizens and a local mythology that haunts those who survive; both tackle human tragedy and drama as the characters of each series stumble towards their inevitable fates while trying to solve the mystery of their respective villages.

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

PR: Viz Media Acquires Junji Ito's Fragments of Horror Manga

Brand-New Terrifying Short Story Collection By The Celebrated Creator Of GYO And UZUMAKI Is Set For North American Release In Summer 2015

San Francisco, CA, December 3, 2014 – VIZ Media, LLC (VIZ Media), the largest distributor and licensor of manga and anime in North America, expands its catalog of horror manga (graphic novel) titles with the acquisition of Junji Ito’s FRAGMENTS OF HORROR.

The title marks the creator’s return to the horror following an eight-year break from the genre, and it will receive a deluxe hardcover treatment for the North American release. FRAGMENTS OF HORROR will debut in the Summer of 2015 under the company’s VIZ Signature imprint, and is rated ‘T+’.

FRAGMENTS OF HORROR is the brand-new collection of delightfully macabre tales from the celebrated master of Japanese horror. An old wooden mansion that turns on its inhabitants. A dissection class with a most unusual subject. A funeral where the dead are definitely not laid to rest. Ranging from the terrifying to the comedic, from the erotic to the loathsome, these stories showcase Junji Ito’s long-awaited return to the world of horror.

Monday, December 1, 2014

Manga Review: Bleach GN 62

Bleach volume 62
Author: Kubo Tite
Viz Media/Shonen Jump
200 pages
Heart of Wolf: Unable to use their Bankai special abilities, the Soul Reaper captains are at a severe disadvantage against the invading Quincy army. Urahara has a plan to turn the tide of battle, but will it be enough as the Quincies continue their onslaught?!
I found the previous volume of Bleach a bit mediocre and middling, so volume 62 either caught me in a good mood or is a genuine step up in quality. It's not the best volume in the Quincy War arc so far, but it does something the manga hasn't managed to do in a while - they make the newly introduced antagonists interesting. There are a few narrative missteps in this volume, but between the science antics of Seireitei's finest, Kurosaki's return to the main stage, and Hitsugaya rocking the zanpaktou, there's enough to forgive Bleach for its recent faults.
In book 62 of Bleach, Ichigo Kurosaki has finished his training and is all ready to return to Soul Society. Good news for his shinigami colleagues, as the Quincy army is quickly making mincemeat of their captains and vice captains. That is, until the combined brainpower of Urahara and Kurotsuchi fix the biggest problem facing our shinigami army: their lack of ban kai. Or have they?

Saturday, November 29, 2014

Fujoshi O'Clock (11/29/14)

What time is it? It's Fujoshi O'Clock, the biweekly feature at Nagareboshi Review, when I bring to you the latest fujoshi-related news and reviews and various shiny BL-flavored things. There is also a focus on trans and bisexual anime/manga. Why? Because rotten girls need love too!

This week on Fujoshi O'Clock:


Reviews:


Am I missing your blog? Got some awesome fujoshi-related news and reviews you think deserve a shout-out? Poke me with a link and a bit of description over at my Twitter: @theseventhl. I'm always on the look out for more BL love!

Friday, November 28, 2014

Five Reasons Why The Pupa Manga Outshines The Anime

Pupa - the anime - is terrible. My thoughts on this are no secret. It has no redeeming qualities whatsoever, despite the studio behind it trying to save what was left of it after the powers that be decided the show would be cut from full-length episodes to under five minutes per week. On such breadcrumbs, better series would have a tough time. So Pupa, a lesser series, absolutely fell apart.

Naturally, in the face of massive backlash, folks will bring out their own revisionist fan excitement over it. People ask if Pupa is really all that bad and suddenly, defenders spring out of the woodwork for a show that doesn't deserve it. And this is from someone who watched NakaImo front to back as well as the Fairy Dance arc of Sword Art Online. Pupa does not deserve your love.

Sayaka Mogi's Pupa, however, is deserving of your love. The original manga upon which the maligned anime series is based is all the things people wanted from the show but didn't get. I've only read up to the third chapter and already it has more worthwhile story content and character development than the front six episodes of the TV anime.

Saturday, November 22, 2014

Manga Review: Black Butler GN 18

Black Butler volume 18
Author: Yana Toboso
Yen Press
176 pages
Their elaborate schoolroom deception at an end, Earl Ciel Phantomhive and his peerless manservant, Sebastian, finally hit upon the truth behind the incident of the vanished students at Weston College. Just what tragic steps did the elites of the school, spurred on by their overwhelming sense of justice, take to stamp out the bullying running rife in the halls of their institution?! What began as a seemingly simple case of missing persons goes round and round, spinning out of control into a great menace, one capable of perplexing even a devil...
After finishing the latest volume of Black Butler, I spent a good five minutes trying to nitpick the contents of it, looking for a major flaw or distraction. I found none. Maybe it needs more old man Tanaka? Okay, every book could use more Tanaka, so that doesn't count as a valid nitpick.
In this collection of chapters, Yana Toboso has packaged together a perfect combination of her signature stylish art, madcap action, thrilling plot twists and screwball humor for the conclusion of the Weston College story arc. Amid the eighteen volumes of Black Butler released so far in English, the newest one is truly among the top of the crop.

Thursday, November 20, 2014

Novel Review: Sword Art Online - Aincrad LN 1 & 2

Sword Art Online: Aincrad 1 & 2
Author: Reki Kawahara
Yen Press/Yen On
200 pages approx. per volume
In the year 2022, gamers rejoice as Sword Art Online opens its virtual doors, allowing players to take full advantage of the ultimate in gaming technology: NerveGear, a system that allows users to completely immerse themselves in the game world by manipulating their brain waves to create a wholly realistic gaming experience. But when the game goes live, the elation of the players quickly turns to horror as they discover that, for all its amazing features, SAO is missing one of the most basic functions of any MMORPG-a log-out button. (Source: Yen Press)
Having just finished up the tepid, lackluster Sword Art Online manga adaptation of the Aincrad arc (my displeasure with this omnibus has already been spelled out on this blog), I went into the SAO original light novel duology for Aincrad with lowered expectations. Somehow, it managed to surprise me in a refreshing way, and does things in a way that the manga and anime never could.
In the translated words of Kawahara, Asuna gains depth, Kirito gains sympathy, and the world of SAO reveals a depth only prose can give it. The story still has some fundamental issues but in the realm of canon sources, the light novel series stands firmly alongside the popular anime and way ahead of its manga counterpart.

Monday, November 17, 2014

PR: Viz Brings Doraemon Products To The U.S. For The Holidays

Ayyy, look at all these Doraemon things I'm gonna buy! Although, naturally, no Missouri shops are on the list :|

VIZ Media Partners With Hot Topic To Offer Exclusive DORAEMON T-Shirts And Highlights Collectables Available Now From The Official U.S. DORAEMON Product Website

VIZ Media gives DORAEMON fans a fun way to display their love of the hit anime adventure comedy that currently airs on the Disney XD channel. The company has announced it is teaming up with pop culture and alternative apparel retailer Hot Topic to offer the first-ever officially U.S. licensed DORAEMON t-shirts.

Shirt designs offered by Hot Topic include “Many Doraemon” and “Doraemon Waving,” available in distinctive men’s and women’s styles, as well as “Doraemon Eating Dorayaki,” available exclusively in women’s sizes. Shirts are available now at 30 Hot Topic store locations nationwide as well as online at: http://search.hottopic.com/search?p=Q&ts=custom&lbc=hottopic&w=doraemon.

Sunday, November 16, 2014

Initial Thoughts On Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni Episode 1 VN

The village of Hinamizawa serial murder incident... Every year on the same day in June, someone died and there was a mysterious disappearance. This death is intertwined in the conflict surrounding a gigantic dam project. The resurrection of a mysterious case hidden during the Showa era. Conspiracy, chance, or a curse... (Source: MangaGamer)

Having watched the first season of the anime and read the first story arc of the manga, I didn't think that playing the Onikakushi-hen arc of the Higurashi No Naku Koro ni/When Cicadas Cry visual novel could surprise me. Although I haven't delved far enough into it to talk about the murders that will soon plague the claustrophobic village of Hinamizawa, what I've seen so far is an interesting deparature from how Higurashi is experience through its anime and manga adaptations.

For those of you wishing to join me in exploring the Higurashi VN, the first episode is currently available for free via the Kindle Fire and MangaGamer. It seems like the game is a bit of a battery drainer and it takes approximately one hour to download the game data even after you install the app. Luckily, once all that is done, you can jump directly into the game.

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Wednesday Briefs: Washed Right Out, Chapter Eleven

Here comes yet another Wednesday, which means the latest edition of Wednesday Briefs! This week, Washed Right Out continues as an unusual promise is made between our protagonist Riley and his co-worker Eren. Are dangerous deeds on the horizon for our hapless hero? Perhaps, if I have anything to say about it.

Washed Right Out, Chapter Eleven. Prompts used: biscuits and gravy, the longer you leave something the harder it is to fix.
I'm in. I'll help you get rid of him.”
Before Riley could respond, Eren stood up. "We can text about it later. Or Skype, or whatever. Just remind me before you leave for the day."
"I might not answer right away." Riley shook his head. "Uh, I have plans this weekend. Sort of."

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

For The Five People Who Still Haven't Seen Too Many Cooks

I had intended on blogging about the Higurashi visual novel today but between getting ready to go back to school and working on my writing, that post got dropped by the wayside. And I apologize for it! Darn real life, getting in the way of blogging time.

In lieu of Higurashi love, enjoy the most viral video of 2014 so far. Too Many Cooks? Yep. And now, if you've seen it already, the opening theme is stuck in your head (again).


Note: this video is severely NSFW. You should really just expect anything and everything if you haven't heard anything about Too Many Cooks yet.

Sunday, November 9, 2014

Fujoshi O'Clock (11/9/14)

What time is it? It's Fujoshi O'Clock, the biweekly feature at Nagareboshi Review, when I bring to you the latest fujoshi-related news and reviews and various shiny BL-flavored things. There is also a focus on trans and bisexual anime/manga. Why? Because rotten girls need love too!

This week on Fujoshi O'Clock:

  • You Higuri will be starting up a new Gakuen Heaven manga series, adapting yet another entry in the Gakuen Heaven BL game series. Higuri's works have been published in English by multiple companies.
  • Digital Manga Publishing has announced a new manga license: Kou Yoneda's Even So, I Will Love You Tenderly, a one-shot manga of an early series by the author, also licensed by DMP.
  • Manga Bookshelf's 3 Things feature for October 30 focuses on pretty pictures and beautiful manga spreads; the post includes Heart of Thomas by Moto Hagio.
  • On a more academic note, Library Juice Press is calling for papers on library services for LGBTQ folks. Deadline is January 15, 2015.
  • ANN writes about seven anime couples who make love and war - pairings who fight together; Kurogane and Fai from CLAMP's Tsubasa series is one of the couples, as is Michiru and Haruka from Sailor Moon.

Reviews:

  • Cartoon Geek Corner reviews CLAMP's Legal Drug, recently re-released in omnibus format through Dark Horse Comics. This shonen-ai series already has a sequel series, its English publication set for next year.
  • The Manga Test Drive reviews the Petshop Of Horrors series by Matsuri Akino. It's a horror series dripping with subtext between Count D and Detective Leon (although the above reviewer seems blind to the whole thing *shrugs*).

Am I missing your blog? Got some awesome fujoshi-related news and reviews you think deserve a shout-out? Poke me with a link and a bit of description over at my Twitter: @theseventhl. I'm always on the look out for more BL love!

Friday, November 7, 2014

New PV From Miku Hatsune Dark Is Hazy

Thanks, Crunchyroll, for the heads up: there's a new Miku Hatsune PV! From VOCALOID producer Keeno and the soundback of Hatsune Miku comes "morning haze". The song actually uses Miku Hatsune Dark, one of the Append music banks meant to create different moods in Miku's songs.


You'll be able to listen to the full LP that this song comes from - "Download feat. Miku Hatsune" when it comes out next month via Warner Music Japan. The album can be pre-ordered through CDJapan, either as a regular or a limited edition.

Thursday, November 6, 2014

I Wasted Half An Hour Reading The Sword Art Online: Aincrad Manga

Pictured above: a huge waste
of time.
So you won't have to! Believe me, you don't want to. "But I'm the biggest SAO fan in my anime club!" No, you don't. "But I love Kirito and Asuna!" Then you'll hate this. "But I always read the-" NO. YOU. DON'T.

Quick summary of Sword Art Online for the cheap seats: an incredibly immersive MMORPG using virtual reality technology named Sword Art Online has just opened for regular play, only now thousands of players are locked into the game with no log out button and real, IRL death around every corner - unless they can defeat the final boss, clear every level, and beat the game.

Our protag, Kirito, is a beta tester player with a special dual wielding ability who becomes the user base's best chance at survival. He teams up with Asuna, one of the fastest and strongest users in the game, and they eventually fall in love. Video game hijinks ensue. People die. Ridiculous bosses spring up for drama. And then the final boss shows up! If you watched SAO on Toonami, you already know this familiar song and dance routine.

But if this is your first introduction to the SAO verse, you are getting a rather slapdash version of it. It's a non-linear, messy wreck of an adaptation and can be very confusing without previous knowledge of the series. And if you've already watched the Aincrad arc in anime form, you really don't need to read the manga.

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Wednesday Briefs: Washed Right Out, Chapter Ten

I'm afraid I left the last installment of Wednesday Briefs on a cliffhanger. Luckily, in this chapter, that cliffhanger is resolved! The Washed Right Out series continues as a proposition is made, an argument is had, and food is stolen. I think the ending of this one will be intriguing to follow in later chapters. Hopefully, y'all keep reading on after this!

Washed Right Out, Chapter Ten. Prompts used: well that's a rough break, a snake in the grass.
"Kiss you?" Riley's brain spun in circles, like a hamster wheel on full tilt. "Dude!"
"What?" Eren gave him what could have been a harmlessly innocent look, but ended up looking more devious than he must have intended.

Monday, November 3, 2014

Manga Review: Library Wars GN 12

Library Wars volume 12
Author: Kiiro Yumi
Original Concept: Hiro Arikawa
Viz Manga/Shojo Beat
190 pages
Library Forces member Iku Kasahara has plans to go out for tea with her supervisor and secret crush, Dojo, but just figuring out what to wear puts her in a tailspin. When an urgent call comes in about an author seeking protection from the government, Iku realizes that the fight against censorship never takes a break! (Source: Viz)
One of the best things about the Library Forces manga is that even when it gets romantic and heartfelt, it never forgets what it's about: a world at violent odds with the ideas of censorship and artistic freedom, set in a society where soldiers must actively protect libraries from being destroyed and ideas from being stamped out. Unfortunately for Iku, another one of these incidents of authors vs censors comes during her first date-sort-of with Dojo, the man she's been crushing on for the entire series. Sorry, Iku-san.

Brief Blog Update: Now With 200% Spookier Stuff

Apparently, Tsukihime took more time that I'd like because now that October has come and gone, I've realized I didn't get to visit every series that was voted on by y'all even though I promised I would. So I get to spend part of November playing catch up! Yay!

Here are some of the posts you can look forward to during this month:

  • looking at the visual novel Higurashi no Naku Koro ni
  • revisiting the anime Pupa and comparing it to the manga
  • finishing the Another anime series
  • retrospective review of the Pet Shop Of Horrors manga
  • a review of the Corpse Princess anime
  • HOPEFULLY, a review of Shiki, but it's not on Crunchyroll and Netflix is being a jerk :|

Sounds fun! But y'all will have to sit through a review of the latest Library Wars manga before that happens, whoops.

Thursday, October 30, 2014

Rough Sketches and Blueprints: Another Episodes 1-2

When Kouichi Sakakibara transfers to his new school, he can sense something frightening in the atmosphere of his new class, a secret none of them will talk about. At the center is the beautiful girl Mei Misaki. Kouichi is immediately drawn to her mysterious aura, but then he begins to realize that no one else in the class is aware of her presence. (Source: ANN)
Spoilers for the first two episodes of the anime adaptation of Another. No manga or light novel spoilers are in this post.
Another being slightly disappointed by the Tsukihime anime, I've finally started watching a series from the poll that y'all voted on, which means Another. Sorry for taking so long to covering one of the anime actually on the list! But this one has been worth the wait.
Compared to Tsukihime, it's more genuine horror than any amount of vampires can deliver. Claustrophobic small town? Check. Haunted class with possible ghost girl? Yup. Creepy dolls, questionable animals and shadowy shops? Got it. Between the haunting atmosphere and the slow build of a mystery, it's hard not to be drawn into this oddball short series.

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Shonen Duet: Naruto GN 67 and One Piece GN 72

Today, I'm tackling two Weekly Shonen Jump titles at the same time: the newest English releases of Naruto and One Piece. 
I would have had Bleach in the mix, but as far as I can tell, volume 62 hasn't been released yet. Which is a shame, as the cover for that book looks great.
Naruto volume 67 by Masashi Kishimoto: Obito has shocked the ninja world by absorbing Ten Tails into himself and transforming into the ultimate jinchuriki. But what is the extent of Obito’s power, and can he even control it? Naruto and Sasuke will have to team up with the revived Hokage to even stand a chance!
This volume is basically more fighting between the allied ninja forces and Obito, who has now become a bigger threat after becoming Ten Tails' schizophrenic jinchuriki and putting his plan of destroying the known world. In response, Naruto and Sasuke and the once dead Hokage make the most unlikely team as they pull out all the stops with improved techniques, pausing occasionally to bicker as they often do.

Sunday, October 26, 2014

Final Thoughts: Tsukihime Lunar Legend

Above: I Can't Believe My 900-Year-Old Vampire
Girlfriend Can Be This Cute!!
Tsukihime Lunar Legend/真月譚 月姫: Shiki Tohno sustained a life threatening injury as a child, and due to that incident he was sent away from the Tohno household and was given to a relative to be raised. Years later, when Shiki is in high school, the head of the Tohno household—his father—dies, and he is ordered to move back in by his sister Akiha, who is the new head of the household. However, Shiki holds a huge secret. Ever since that injury, he has been seeing lines on objects, and only with a special pair of glasses is he able to stop seeing them. (Source: ANN)
Spoilers for the entire Tsukihime anime. No manga or visual novel spoilers.
I called Tsukihime's anime adaptation a Type-Moon primer, which still holds true, but after finishing all twelve episodes, it's clear that the title is also a primer for the original visual novel it is based on. I have so many questions about the obscure points of Tsukihime that I'm yearning to play the VN or at least read the manga, which must go further in depth with its ten volumes than a 12-part series ever could.

Friday, October 24, 2014

Fujoshi O'Clock (10/24/14)

What time is it? It's Fujoshi O'Clock, the biweekly feature at Nagareboshi Review, when I bring to you the latest fujoshi-related news and reviews and various shiny BL-flavored things. There is also a focus on trans and bisexual anime/manga. Why? Because rotten girls need love too!

This week on Fujoshi O'Clock:


Reviews:


Am I missing your blog? Got some awesome fujoshi-related news and reviews you think deserve a shout-out? Poke me with a link and a bit of description over at my Twitter: @theseventhl. I'm always on the look out for more BL love!

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Wednesday Briefs: Washed Right Out, Chapter Nine

Part nine of the ongoing flash fiction series Washed Right Out is now up! You can read the previous parts at the following links: part one / part two / part three / part four / part five / part six / part seven / part eight. This week, Riley considers dark doings and a proposition is made. If you are enjoying the story so far or have some criticisms that need airing out, please feel free to leave a comment! I would really appreciate feedback on Washed Right Out as it stands now.

Washed Right Out, Chapter Nine. Prompts used: give me a kiss, now see that's a problem.
The idea came to Riley later that night, long after Sonia had cleared out with her bag of legal papers (but not before she ordered him dinner and then stood watch for the delivery person, as if expecting Jonathan to sneak in under the guise of a Korean restaurant employee). In retrospect, he should have seen it coming, but he’d been distracted up until that crucial point.

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Manga Review: D.Gray-Man GN 24

D.Gray-man volume 24
Author: Katsura Hoshino
Viz Media
183 pages
Spoiler warning: Review contains spoilers for the D.Gray-man series so far. Read on with caution!
Allen, now joined by two companions, is still on the run and trying to deal with his demonic alter ego, the Fourteenth. This means avoiding erstwhile allies as well as overt enemies. He also has to prevent one of his companions, fellow Exorcist Kanda, from trying to destroy the Fourteenth while keeping the Fourteenth from destroying his other companion, Johnny, whose zealous devotion to Allen is gratifying but not much help in a fight!
In a way, it's almost a blessing that D.Gray-man was on hiatus and came back from break with a fresh face. In its renewed vigor, it's really been steamrolling through the plot, as thrilling and haunting as ever. In its latest volume, Allen Walker struggles with his runaway status, now accompanied by the scowling Kanda and the enthusiastic Johnny, all while figuring out how to contain the slowly awakening Fourteenth. But the Fourteenth won't be content on staying inactive for long...

Monday, October 20, 2014

I Didn't Know My Horror Anime Could Be So Short!

Commitment-phobes, take heart: Claymation Japanese artist Takena Nagao has something for you and they don't last longer than seven minutes! If you've ever wanted to see blood and guts put to life in the form of colorful clay, served up with a bit of morbid humor, you're gonna love these animated shorts.

Warning: take the content advisories to heart! They are filled with explicit violence, gore and terrifying imagery. Consider these videos NSFW!

In Maid of the Dead, one man's wish for an omelette with ketchup writing goes horribly wrong when the maid cafe he is eating at is hit by a zombie infestation.

Friday, October 17, 2014

Manga Review: Soul Eater GN 22

Soul Eater volume 22
Author: Atsushi Ohkubo
Yen Press
202 pages
The remaining Death Weapons, along with Kid, gather to stage their assault on the moon. As they approach the Kishin’s hideout, Stein and Justin clash in a violent, madness-fueled battle. Stein struggles to maintain his grip on sanity while Justin draws power from the Kishin’s inexhaustible aura of madness. Everyone knows there will be casualties on the road to restoring “order”-but will Stein become the first?
We're still in that uneasy break between the start of the end and getting there, and even though this volume is filled with a lot of action scenes and amazing fights, it doesn't advance the main plot as much as it would have you think. Between the confrontation between Maka and Crona and the introduction of several plot points that haven't paid off yet, it's middling on progress but rich in character development.
As the 22nd volume opens, Maka has latched onto Crona's wavelength and is openly questioning the order to execute them via the Spartoi unit. Meanwhile, Stein gets into an all-out fight with Justin while Death the Kid fights the Kishin's soldiers while unlocking further levels of his own powers. While DWMA is distracted, Noah and his faithful second-hand servant Gopher try to sneak into the Kishin's base but are caught by meister/weapon duo Clay and Akane, who should both look familiar to Soul Eater NOT!'s readers.

Thursday, October 16, 2014

PR: Viz Media To Publish Resident Evil Manga, Offer Free Preview Of Series

© CAPCOM © 2012
NAOKI SERIZAWA / AKITASHOTEN 
Discover The Source Of The Outbreak Of The Deadly C-Virus In The Gritty Manga Prequel To CAPCOM’s Popular Resident Evil® 6 Game Property

San Francisco, CA, October 16, 2014 – VIZ Media, LLC (VIZ Media), the largest distributor and licensor of manga and anime in North America, gives gamers and action fans a special FREE sneak preview of its forthcoming RESIDENT EVIL: THE MARHAWA DESIRE manga (graphic novel) series as part of the company’s participation in 2014 Halloween ComicFest.

The terrifying 5-volume apocalyptic action thriller was created by Naoki Serizawa and serves as a prequel to the storyline of CAPCOM’s bestselling Resident Evil® 6 game property. The manga series is rated ‘M’ for Mature Readers and will launch on November 18th under the VIZ Signature imprint. RESIDENT EVIL: THE MARHAWA DESIRE Vol. 1 will carry a print MSRP of $12.99 U.S. / $14.99 CAN.

Held each year, Halloween ComicFest is celebrated at scores of comic shops and retailers nationwide on the Saturday before Halloween. On this day, participating shops offer fans and visitors a special FREE Halloween ComicFest sampler filled with previews of scores of exciting upcoming titles. For additional information and a list of participating retailers, please visit: www.halloweencomicfest.com.

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Shiki Doth Protest Too Much: Lunar Legend Tsukihime Episodes 4-6

Spoiler warning: Post contains spoilers for Tsukihime's anime adaptation up to episode six. No visual novel or manga spoilers.
Shiki awakens in the Tohno household, and is scolded over breakfast by Akiha for being late the previous night. At school, Shiki is relieved to see that Yumizuka is safe. Shiki is given a party by Akiha, who formally welcomes her brother into the Tohno household. Later that evening, Shiki has a dreamlike sequence where Arcueid comes, craving for his blood. The next day at school, Arcueid arrives, calling for Shiki, much to his embarrassment. (Source: Wikipedia)
Last time on Tsukihime Drama Island, we met our star cast—the flat-faced Shiki, the mysterious Arcueid, the overbearing sister Akiha, the pink-haired maid twins Kohaku and Hisui, and the sword-wielding weirdo Ciel. In the next three episodes, relationships begin to advance and a new enemy is named, but not many of the questions from before get addressed. Also, there is the sinking feeling that this series is heading into a major bro-con direction and I get vivid flashbacks to the horror days of blogging NakaImo every week and no I DON'T WANT TO GO BACK THERE, OKAY.

Tuesday, October 14, 2014

The Doctor Is In: Tezuka's Black Jack and Horror

Spoiler warning: Post contains spoilers for Osamu Tezuka's original Black Jack manga up to volume 3, as published in English by Vertical Inc./Vertical Comics.
Black Jack is a mysterious and charismatic young genius surgeon who travels the world performing amazing and impossible medical feats. Though a trained physician, he refuses to accept a medical license due to his hatred and mistrust of the medical community's hypocrisy and corruption. This leads Black Jack to occasional run-ins with the authorities, as well as from gangsters and criminals who approach him for illegal operations.
Content warning: The Black Jack manga contains explicitly drawn scenes of surgery and medical procedures. If you are sensitive to these things, you should probably avoid this series.
Black Jack is a medical drama. It is a weird freaking pick to review during October, which is supposed to be all about spooky horror titles. Of all the Doctor Tezuka titles to choose - Don Dracula would have done it, even though it's a comedic take on horror, or the stories of The Crater, or even MW and Ode To Kirihito and Book of Human Insects, which are psychological horror.
But damn it, I just wanted to talk about Black Jack again, outside of my post for the Osamu Tezuka MMF from two years ago (geez, has it been that long?). Because in several ways, Black Jack is very much a Tezuka-style horror story. Black Jack himself even looks like a horror character, with his large flapping overcoat, scarred two-tone faced and shocked black-and-white hair.

Friday, October 10, 2014

Retrospective Review: Kurosagi Corpse Delivery Service GN 1

The Kurosagi Corpse Delivery Service volume 1
Authors: Eiji Otsuka, Housui Yamazaki
Dark Horse Comics
208 pages
'Your body is their business!' Five young students at a Buddhist university, three guys and two girls, find little call for their job skills in today's Tokyo... among the living, that is! But all that stuff in college they were told would never pay offyou know, channeling, dowsing, ESPgives them a direct line to the dead... the dead who are still trapped in their corpses and can't move on to the next reincarnation.
Content/spoiler warning: Review contains spoilers for some of the plot points in the first volume. Review also discusses the more dark/twisted aspects of Kurosagi, including dismemberment, incest, assault, suicide and death. Read on with caution.
Re-reading the first book of this ongoing Eiji Otsuka horror series is like playing a game of How Absolutely Macabre Is This Series, Really? and losing every time. Somehow, through the fog of memory, I forgot how far Kurosagi Corpse Delivery Service goes in showing what kind of explicit and horrible ways people can kill other people, the unending ways it finds to illustrate the darkest, most desperate side of humanity.
Not the kid with the talking hand puppet, though. I'd never forget Yata and his crude backtalking puppet who can channel the dead. But in this book, Yata seems almost normal compared to the cases that the Service investigate every chapter.